Company information
Background research
Google the company name to look for some information to get you started. Look for:
- Websites
- Media reports, articles and news items
- Annual reports and market announcements
On their corporate website, check "About" or "History" to find out some background. See if you can find out if they are listed, a subsidiary of a public company, or a private company. Are they based in Australia, another country, or a parent company overseas?
Scroll down for research tips on finding company profiles and reports, news and media, research articles, announcements and historic information.
If it is a small company, determine the country and industry they are operating in, and look for a wider report on that industry if you cannot find a company profile or report.
- Find industry informationIf your company is smaller, you might need to look for information on the wider industry.
Find market research reports
- Business: finding market research reports
Learn about market research reports and how to find them for your business assignment
Database tutorials - find company reports and profiles
- MarketLine AdvantageCovering 215 countries, resources include company profiles, capsules and SWOTs, case studies, industry profiles, company news, financial deals, country analysis and country statistics.
- MarketLine Video Guides
Short video guides for using the database and analysis tools - MarketLine User GuideDownload the PDF user guide
- IBISWorldProvides company and industry reports across all 500 Australian industries
Find Australian company information using IBISWorld database.
- Passport (Euromonitor) This link opens in a new windowBusiness market intelligence and analysis across key industries
- DatAnalysis PremiumDetailed information on all companies listed on the Australian Stock Exchange.
- DatAnalysis Premium help
Video tours and help sheets introduce you to resources held in this database and how to find them
- Connect4 BoardroomLists details including contacts, industry, sales, employee numbers, auditors, legal advisors, banked, and renumeration breakdowns of directors and senior executives of ASX listed companies.
- Connect4 Boardroom HelpSelect FAQs/Searching tips in the help section for more information on how to search.
Company research
Access up to date, full text news articles via Library databases.
Research tip:
Log in at the links below with your La Trobe username and password for free full text access to premium content.
- Australia and New Zealand Newsstream (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowFull text access to major Australian and New Zealand newspapers, including regional and rural radio transcripts and news from current affairs television programs.
- Factiva This link opens in a new windowFactiva provides access to nearly 9000 publications including major national and regional newspapers in Australia and overseas.
- The Australian Financial ReviewGet full text access to this online newspaper for business, finance and investment news.
- Harvard Business ReviewGet full text access to current business, management, economics and industry news.
Access the following academic databases via the library for full text access to academic journals.
Research tip:
You may not find published journal articles on a specific named company. Search for keywords describing the industry they are operating in to find relevant research.
- Emerald Insight This link opens in a new windowFull text coverage of a range of management disciplines including: strategy; leadership; library and information management; marketing and human resource management; as well as engineering, applied science and technology titles.
- Business source ultimate This link opens in a new windowProvides many premium peer-reviewed, business related journals and indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals.
- ABI/Inform Collection This link opens in a new windowBusiness research database includes full-text articles, trade publications, conference proceedings and market reports.
What is an annual report?
A financial report or statement issued by a publicly listed company to its shareholders
What does it include?
- Statements of financial performance, financial position, and cash flow
- Notice of the Annual General Meeting (AGM) and business resolutions to be discussed
What are company announcements?
Under share market listing rules, listed companies are required to publish a number of reports to inform the market of their activities.
Examples include: takeover announcements, prospectuses, chairman's address, periodic reports (including the annual report), company administration, issued capital, notice of meeting.
Company announcements in Australia rated market sensitive are processed as a priority. They become available for free 20 minutes after release.
Research tip:
Try the following websites for annual reports and company announcements
- AnnualReports.comLinks to company websites listed on the following exchanges: AIM, AMEX, ASX, LSE, NASDAQ, NYSE, OTC, TSX, TSX-V
- ASX Announcements search webpageSearch for Australian company announcements back to 1998
- EDGAR Search (US Securities and Exchange Commission)US Company filings from 1994. Annual reports are identified by the 10-K code. Search for annual reports by typing in the company name in the search box, for example: Microsoft and 10-K.
- CAROL (Company Annual Reports On-Line)Access is free of charge, but registration is required. Good coverage for UK and European companies.
Historical records are useful when you want to look at company changes and growth.
- Hoover's Company Records (ProQuest)Covers more than 40,000 public and non-public companies and 225,000 key executives. Includes: company location, overview, history, officers and board members, competitors, products and operations, auditors, rankings and historical financials (annual & quarterly for past 3 years).
- International directory of company historiesCompany histories for US, larger companies and multinationals. Records include: Early history, key dates, key strategic moves, principal subsidiaries, major competitors and further readings.