Industry information
Learn how to find information on an industry using databases and websites.
Database tutorials - find industry reports
- Business: finding market research reports
Learn about market research reports and how to find them for your business assignment
- MarketLine AdvantageCovering 215 countries, resources include company profiles, capsules and SWOTs, case studies, industry profiles, company news, financial deals, country analysis and country statistics.
- Find industry profiles in MarketLine
This tutorial will guide you through the steps of finding industry reports using the MarketLine Advantage database
- IBISWorldProvides company and industry reports across all 500 Australian industries. We have access to the following Modules: Australia Industry Reports (ANZSIC); Australia Specialized Industry Reports; Australia Business Environment Profiles; Australia Company Reports; Australia Risk Ratings Reports; iExpert Reports on ANZSIC Industries; and Global Industry Reports.
- Passport (Euromonitor) This link opens in a new windowThis database provides business market intelligence information. Previously known as Global Market Info Database (GMID).
Key resources
An industry profile reports on and analyzes key aspects of an industry.
- ABI/Inform Collection This link opens in a new windowUse the Browse option to find reports by industry. Each industry report focuses on a specific country or region.
- Passport (Euromonitor) [previously called GMID]Passport contains high-quality industry analysis. Select a particular industry from the dropdown menu under the 'Industries' tab and proceed with the search. You will get analytical articles on that industry, covering industry development, trends, risks, opportunities and much more.
- IBISWorldType TRENDS in the Search within Report box to isolate relevant sections.
- MarketLine AdvantageContains 30,000 company profiles and 4000 industry profiles covering 215 countries. Some company profiles cover more than others and include a SWOT analysis and brief biographies of key executives, while the industry profiles contain a practical application of Porter's 5 Forces analysis.
- Datamonitor Industry Profiles via Business source ultimateSelect 'Industry profile' in the Browse box located in the right hand panel and then browse or search to locate the required profile.
- Year Book Australia (cat. no. 1301.0) (Australian Bureau of Statistics)Includes a chapter on Australian industry structure and performance, followed by chapters for broad industry sectors.
When searching for information about an industry in a specific location, don't forget to add the geography to your search, for example:
- wine industry and australia
- "dairy industry" and "new zealand"
- Business source ultimate This link opens in a new windowComprehensive business database containing over 1800 peer reviewed journals and 1700+ trade and general business magazines, company profiles, industry reports, SWOT analyses and more.
- ABI/Inform Collection This link opens in a new windowComprises ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline. International coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.
- Informit Complete This link opens in a new windowThe business subject area covers economics, commerce, management and marketing.
- Emerald InsightOver 35,000 full text articles from Emerald’s international management portfolio. Subject coverage: strategy; leadership; library and information management; marketing and human resource management; plus a substantial number of engineering, applied science and technology titles.
These databases and websites include media reports in newspapers, newswires, business publications and television.
- Business source ultimateSelect 'Trade Journal' in the right hand 'Browse' panel and then browse or search to locate the required publication.
- FactivaClick SUBJECT. Open the following by clicking on each in succession: Selection of Top Stories/Trends/Analysis - Editor's Choice; Industry Trends/Analysis. Browse list of industries. Select first by clicking on blue triangle and then on Search.
- The Conversation (Business + Economy)Independent source of news and views, sourced from the academic and research community.
- Australia and New Zealand Newsstream (ProQuest)Provides access to the full text of major Australian and New Zealand newspapers, including regional and rural radio transcripts and news from current affairs television programs.
- ReutersFree international news provider with business news coverage organised by markets, deals, small business, economy and technology. Also includes business analysis and opinion.
- ABIXIncludes article summaries of key company and industry news reported in Australian newspapers, business magazines and industry publications. Please note: no full text, but does contain very useful and descriptive summaries.
Industry and professional organisations
Industry Associations are key information gateways for their particular industry. Through membership lists you can identify the major players and stakeholders within the industry and access up-to-date industry news and events, industries’ response to issues, business surveys and reviews, research papers and business publications.
Some key Australian industry associations and directories are listed below. For more industry associations, do a Google Search. Some examples:
- "Australian industry associations and mining" to look for mining associations in Australia
- "international industry associations and mining" to look for international mining associations
- Australian Chamber of Commerce & Industry (ACCI)Australia's peak business association. You can access ACCI's Commerce & Industry magazine and Annual Business Review from their website.
- Australian Industry Group (AI Group)A peak industry association in Australia. You can access their Industry Newsletter, Industry Magazine, Research Surveys and much more.
- Australian Trade Commission (Austrade)Austrade provides insights into Australian industry - capabilities, outlooks and opportunities for investment in Australian sectors.
- The Victorian Employers' Chamber of Commerce & Industry (VECCI)The peak body for employers in Victoria, informing and servicing more than 15,000 members, customers and clients around the State.
- UK Trade Association ForumSurveys of salaries, research reports and much more.
- US Industry SnapshotsClick an industry in the left hand panel, you’ll see links to industry publications on the bottom of the page.
- International Chamber of Commerce (ICC)A global organisation for businesses.
- New Zealand Chambers of CommerceBusiness organisations in New Zealand.
Industry classification codes
Industrial Classification Codes are numerical, used by government and business for classifying industries. They are a useful tool when searching for businesses in an Industry sector and for evaluating or benchmarking performance within an Industry. Many databases allow searching by these codes to create lists of companies by industry.
Common industry codes include:
- Australian and New Zealand Standard Industrial Classification (ANZSIC)Compares industry statistics from Australia and New Zealand
- North American Industry Classification System (NAICS)Widely used US classification system. Searchable in many business databases including EBSCO, Factiva and Passport GMID.
- Standard Industrial Classification (SIC)An early industrial classification system which was widely applied internationally. Has been replaced by the NAICS system. Many business databases are still searchable using these older codes.
- Global Industry Classification Standard (GICS)GICS is a joint Standard and Poor’s/Morgan Stanley Capital International product. All ASX listed entities are now classified using the GICS classification system.
- More Classification SchemesIntroductions and links to more industrial and economic activities classification schemes such as NACE, a statistical classification scheme of economic activities in the European Community.