Medical Artefacts Collection

The Medical Artefacts Collection contains a broad range of artefacts from past medical courses run by La Trobe University and its antecedent institutions. The collection dates from approximately 1915-1990, with the majority of materials likely dating from c.1950-1980 (although some loaned or donated items are far older). There are three series in the Collection, based on the format of the materials.

Some items from this collection have been digitised, and are available through OPAL here. Additionally, you can find the collection in the Library Catalogue here.

This collection can be accessed at La Trobe University Bundoora campus in the Archivarium upon request. Requests should by made in writing to archives@latrobe.edu.au.

This collection largely includes artefacts rather than written records. This can make it challenging to identify the provenance and exact age of the individual records. Engravings and labels on some of the items identify them as coming from one of three predecessor institutions:

• the Northern District School of Nursing (1950-1989);
• the Bendigo College of Advanced Education (1976-1990), which partnered with the Northern District School of Nursing and offered Health Science degrees by the late 1980s; or
• the La Trobe University College of Northern Victoria (1991-1994) which took over the non-trade courses of the Bendigo College of Advanced Education (1976-1990).

The medical artefacts in this collection come from 49 identifiable manufacturers across multiple countries, including Germany, Italy, Japan, England, the United States, and Australia. These range from large companies such as Bayer, Johnson and Johnson, and M. Farbin, to smaller Australian businesses such as the Lowe Family Chemist in Werribee.

This collection also includes a small number of donated medical artefacts, some of which are far older than those acquired through La Trobe's antecedent institutions.

For more information about antecedent institutions please see here.

La Trobe University (1967), ‘Report of the Interim Council 1965. First Report of the Council 1966’, La Trobe University, Bundoora, Australia

La Trobe University (1988), ‘La Trobe University Course Handbook – 1989 – Volume 1’, La Trobe University, Bundoora Australia

La Trobe University (2016), ‘Annual Report 2015’, La Trobe University, https://www.latrobe.edu.au/__data/assets/pdf_file/0008/713933/32648-LTU-Annual-Report-2015-WEB-FA-Rev.pdf

La Trobe University (Amendment) Act (1987) (Austl). http://www.austlii.edu.au/cgi-bin/viewdb//au/legis/vic/hist_act/ltua1987319/

La Trobe University, (03 May 2022), ‘Schools and Departments’, La Trobe University, https://www.latrobe.edu.au/schools-departments

La Trobe University, (c.2022), ‘Courses in Health’, La Trobe University https://www.latrobe.edu.au/courses/study-health

Lowe, Trish, (2020), ‘Nursing education in Australia: Part 8 Move towards tertiary education for Australian nurses -mid 1980s’, Australian College of Nursing https://www.acn.edu.au/nurseclick/nurse-education-in-australia-part-6

Mcleod, Janelle (May 2019). ‘ Northern District School of Nursing – Student Records – Lecture Sheets – 1970-1989’ From the La Trobe University Archives: Archival Item of the Week, La Trobe University. Link here.

McLeod, Janelle, (February 2020), ‘Lincoln Institute and LTU Amalgamation Files, 1986 – 2004’, From the La Trobe University Archives: Archival Item of the Week, La Trobe University. Link here.

McLeod, Janelle, (February 2020), ‘Northern District School of Nursing Photographs – 1930 – 1986’, From the La Trobe University Archives: Archival Item of the Week, La Trobe University. Link here.

NDSNGA,(date unknown), ‘History’, Northern District School of Nursing Graduates Association (NDSNGA), https://www.ndsnga.me/

Nurses' School for Country (1949, November 26). The Age (Melbourne, Vic. : 1854 - 1954), p. 12. Retrieved May 31, 2022, from http://nla.gov.au/nla.news-article189479859

Nursing As A Career (1950, January 18). Weekly Times (Melbourne, Vic. : 1869 - 1954), p. 39. Retrieved May 31, 2022, from http://nla.gov.au/nla.news-article225449216

Nursing School For Bendigo (1949, December 20). The Herald (Melbourne, Vic. : 1861 - 1954), p. 10. Retrieved May 31, 2022, from http://nla.gov.au/nla.news-article244142625 

Parliament of the Commonwealth of Australia, ‘State Grants (Nurse Education Trasfer Assistance) Bill (1985)’, (Cth), http://www.austlii.edu.au/au/legis/cth/bill_em/sgetab1985530/memo_1.html

Parliament of Victoria, La Trobe University Act (1964), (Vic) http://classic.austlii.edu.au/au/legis/vic/repealed_act/ltua1964239/

PROV (date unknown) ‘La Trobe University’, Public Records Office of Victoria (PROV), https://prov.vic.gov.au/archive/VA1184

PROV, (date unknown), ‘Hospitals and Charities Commission’. Public Records Office of Victoria https://prov.vic.gov.au/archive/VA693

Sax, S (1978), ‘Nurse education and training: report of the Committee of Inquiry into Nurse Education and Training to the Tertiary Education Commission’, Tertiary Education Commission, Canberra http://hdl.voced.edu.au/10707/29417.

Victorian Government, (20^th December 1987) ‘Victorian Government Gazette’. No. 107. http://www8.austlii.edu.au/au/other/vic_gazette/1972/107.html