How to cite our sources

Unpublished archival materials are items that were never designed or created for public use. For example the photographs from the Agriculture collection or the surgical equipment in the Medical Artefacts Collection.

Published resources include items like Rabelais, Annual Reports, and Research Articles. Cite these resources as you normally would but remember to include the La Trobe University Archives as the publisher if that is where you accessed them from.

If you found these resources through a published finding aid or our website please also include a citation to that source.

Adapt to your own citation style but your reference should include:

• Author / Creator: La Trobe University Archives and anyone else mentioned as a co-author
• Year: The date the website was last updated
• Title: The title of the collection
• Publisher: La Trobe University
• URL: If relevant

Examples

La Trobe University Archives (Year last updated), ‘Title of the collection’, La Trobe University, URL if relevant

La Trobe University Archives (2023), ‘Agriculture at La Trobe’, La Trobe University, https://latrobe.libguides.com/c.php?g=953203&p=7005517&preview=6c0855395c423df0d340498e9cacb45b

Adapt to your own citation style but your reference should include:

• Author / Creator: Creator of the item / items in the box if known. You should find this information in the section on provenance on the website. In some cases you will need to select the correct faculty or department based on the date of the materials.
• Year(s): The date range of the item or box
• Collection Title: The title of the collection
• Box Number: The box number
• Publisher: La Trobe University Archives
• URL: If relevant

Examples

Creator if known, (Year (s) if known of item), ‘Collection Title’, Box Number, La Trobe University Archives

Faculty of Science, Technology, and Engineering (1991 – 2000), ‘Agriculture at Latrobe’, Box BU2015/681-0005, La Trobe University Archives

Adapt to your own citation style but your reference should include:

• Author / Creator: Creator of the item / items in the box if known. You should find this information in the section on provenance on the website. In some cases you will need to select the correct faculty or department based on the date of the materials.
• Year(s): The date range of the item or box
• Collection Title: The title of the collection
• Box Number: The box number
• Item Number and Title: The item number and title.
• Publisher: La Trobe University Archives
• URL: If relevant

Examples

Creator if known, (Year (s) if known of item), ‘Collection Title’, Box Number, item Number, La Trobe University Archives

Faculty of Science, Technology, and Engineering (1991 – 2000), ‘Agriculture at Latrobe’, Box BU2015/681-0005, Item 1, La Trobe University Archives