Rabelais Student Newspaper Collection
Collection Note
Rabelais is the official student newspaper of La Trobe University. It dates back to 1967 and continues via its website: https://www.rabelais.com.au/
Rabelais contains articles written by students for students covering a range of social and political issues both within and outside of La Trobe University. Prominent examples include coverage on the “La Trobe Three”, The Vietnam War, and more recently articles about student mental health and wellbeing.
This collection can be accessed at La Trobe University Bundoora campus in the Archivarium upon request. Requests should by made in writing to archives@latrobe.edu.au.
Rabelais Issues by Box
1967 Volume 1: Issues 1 - 3
1968 Volume 2: Issues 1 - 9 plus special election issue
1969 Volume 3: Issues 1 - 12
1970 Volume 4: Issues 1 - 10
1971 Volume 5: Issues 1 - 10
1972 Volume 6: Issues 1, and 3 - 11 and Special election edition issue (missing issue 2)
1973 Volume 7: Issues 1 - 8 and 10 - 14 and Special SRC edition (missing issue 9)
1974 Volume 8: Issues 0 - 12
1975 Volume 9: Issues 1 - 13 including a Special Christmas edition
1976 Volume 10: Issues 2 - 14 including the Feminist Issue (13) and the Black Issue (10)
1977 Volume 11: Issues 2 - 13 (missing issue 1)
1978 Volume 12: Issues 1 - 2, and 4 - 13 (missing issue 3)
1979 Volume 13: Issues 1-14
1980 Volume 14: Issues 1-7, Election SRG and US Supplement (issue 8), 9-10, and 12 (missing issue 11)
1981 Volume 15: Issues 1 - 10, and 12 - 14. (missing issue 11)
1982 Volume 16: Issues 1 - 4, 5 and 6 as one issue, 7 - 8, issue 10 misprinted as issue 19, and 11 - 14. (missing issues 9 and 10)
1983 Volume 17: Issues 1-10, an issue dated Sept 6th (issue 11?), and issues 12 - 14
1984 Volume 18: Issues 1 -4, 9, and 10 -13 (missing issues 5,6,7 and, 8)
1985 Volume 19: Issues 1, 3, 5, 6-10, and 13 (missing issues 2, 4, 11, and 12)
1986 Volume 20: Issues 2-14 and 20 (missing issues 1, 15, 16, 17, 18 and 19)
1987 Volume 21: Issues 1-9, and 11-14 (missing issue 10)
1988 Volume 22: Issues 1-8, and 10 -11 (missing issue 9)
1989 Volume 23: Issues 2, 7, 11 and a Women's Edition (missing issues 1, 3, 4, 5, 6, 8, 9, and 10)
1990 Volume 24: Issues 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 Inter campus edition, 9, 10, and Women's Edition
1991 Volume 25: Issues 1, an unnumbered issue, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7,8, 9, 10, 11, and a "final edition" (12?)
1992 Volume 26: Issues 1-8, Rabliod (issue 9?),10 and 11.
1993 Volume 27: Issues 1-7, 9-13 (missing issue 8)
1994 Volume 28: Issues 1-13, plus unnumbered issue from March 1994 and (two copies of) Australian Universities Games supplement
1995 Volume 29: Issues 1-4, and 6-9 (missing issue 5)
1996 Volume 30: Issues 1-4, plus unnumbered 'Rebellious' 1996 Women's Edition
1997 Volume 31: Issues 1-3, 6, 9; issue 3 is 'Rebellious' 1997 Womens Edition (missing issues 4,5, 7, and 8)
1998 Volume 32: Issues 1-8, plus unnumbered 'Rebel Q' queer edition; issue 4 is 'Rebellious' 1998 Womens Edition and issue 7 is 'Green Edition'
1999 Volume 33: Issues 1-8; issue 4 is 'Rebellious' 1999 Womens Edition
2000 Volume 34: Issues 1-5, 7 plus unnumbered 'Rebel Q' queer edition and unnumbered 'Green Rabelais' Environment edition
2001 Volume 35: Issues 1-4, plus unnumbered 'Rebellious' 2001 Womens Edition and unnumbered 'Alternative Handbook 2001'
2002 Volume 36: Issues 1-2, 4-9, plus unnumbered'Rebel Q 2002' (possibly issue 3?) and unnumbered 'Rabelais Survival Guide 2002'; issue 6 is 'Rebellious' 2002 Womens Edition, issue 7 is 'Indigenous Rabelais', issue 8 is Election special
2005 Volume 39: Issue 5 (missing all other issues)
2006 Volume 40: missing all issues
2007 Volume 41: No Issues
2008 Volume 42: No Issues
2009 Volume 43: No Issues
2010 Volume 44: No Issues
2011 Volume 45: Issue 1
2012 Volume 46: Issues 2 - 5 and 8 (Currently held offsite).
2013 Volume ?: Issues 1 - 3 and 5 - 7 (Currently held offsite).
2014 Volume 47: Issues 1 - 8 (Currently held offsite).
2015 Volume 48: Issues 1, 3, 5, and undated issue (missing issue 2) Temp held in box 22 and offsite.
2016 Volume 49: Issues 1 - 6 (Currently held offsite).
2017 Volume 50: Issues 1 - 4 (Currently held offsite)
2018 Volume 51: Issues 1 - 5 (Temp held in Box 22 and off site).
2019 Volume 52: Issues 1-3 and 5 -6 (Currently held offsite)..
2020 Volume 53: No Issues
2021 Volume 54: No Issues
2023 Volume 56: Issue 1 (Temp held in Box 22).
Missing Rabelais: Have you seen me?
The Archives currently has many gaps in our collection of Rabelais. We would be very interested in obtaining the listed issues to complete our collection. If you have copies of Rabelais listed in the following tabs and would be comfortable donating them please contact us at archives@latrobe.edu.au.
The Archives currently has the following gaps in our collection of Rabelais. We would be very interested in obtaining the listed issues to complete our collection:
1972 Volume 6 Missing issue 2
1973 Volume 7 Missing issue 9
1977 Volume 11 Missing issue 1
1978 Volume 12 Missing issue 3
The Archives currently has the following gaps in our collection of Rabelais. We would be very interested in obtaining the listed issues to complete our collection:
1980 Volume 14 Missing issue 11
1981 Volume 15 Missing issue 11
1982 Volume 16 Missing issues 9 and 10
1984 Volume 18 Missing Issues 5, 6, 7 and 8
1985 Volume 19 Missing issues 2, 4,11, and 12
1986 Volume 20 Missing issues 1, 15, 16, 17, 18, and 19
1987 Volume 21 Missing issue 10
1988 Volume 22 Missing issue 9
1989 Volume 23 Missing Issues 1, 3, 4, 5, 6, 8, 9, and 10
The Archives currently has the following gaps in our collection of Rabelais. We would be very interested in obtaining the listed issues to complete our collection:
1993 Volume 27 Missing issue 8
1995 Volume 29 Missing issue 5
1997 Volume 31 Missing issues 4, 5, 6, and 8
The Archives currently has no Rabelais from the years 2003 - 2004, 2006 -2009 and holds only issue 5 from the year 2005 Volume 39.
The Archives currently has no Rabelais from the year 2010 and only a small number of issues for each year in this period. It is possible only 4 or 5 issues were created during this period if this is not the case we would love to hear from you. We are missing the following issues
2011: All except issue 1.
2012: Missing issues 1 and 7.
2013: Missing issue 4.
2015: Missing issues 2 and 4.
2019: Missing issue 4.
We would be highly interested in obtaining these items to complete our collection.
The Archives currently has only 1 issue from this period in our collection. We would be very interested in obtaining any issues from this time period to complete our collection.
Provenance
The provenance of Rabelais is a rich tapestry of individual students who have contributed over the years as editors and authors. There are simply too many to list here. However the relationship of Rabelais with the Student Union and Student Representative Committee have been significant.
The title Rabelais is a nod to François Rabelais (c.1494 - 1593). Rabelais was a French Catholic Priest (Franciscan then Benedictine) and latter Humanist scholar famous for his satirical writings which were widely banned during his lifetime.
Sources and References
Rabelais (No Date) 'About Rabelais', Rabelais, https://www.rabelais.com.au/about
Unknown Author, (No Date), 'Francois Rabelais Summary', Encyclopedia Britannica, https://www.britannica.com/summary/Francois-Rabelais