Skip to Main Content

Websites - downloaded documents

Referencing documents downloaded from websites

Usually a ‘document from a website’ will be a PDF, Word or other document type that opens or downloads.

  • Reference these types of standalone documents like you would a book:
    • Pamphlets
    • Corporate reports
    • Brochures
    • Government reports
    • Annual reports
    • Other types of ‘grey’ literature.
  • If information is on the website itself (i.e. NOT downloaded) please see how to reference: Websites and Webpages.
  • How you reference a source depends on what version you have viewed.

Documents from websites - downloaded, pdfs etc.

In-text citation

(Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade 2022, 36) 

Forest and Wood Products (2020, 15)

See In-text citations for more information.
Reference list

Organisation / Association / Corporation / Department Name. Year of publication. Title of Report: Subtitle of Report. Place of Publication. Name of Publisher. [URL if online].

Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade. 2022. Annual Report 2021-22. Canberra: DFAT. https://www.dfat.gov.au/about-us/publications/corporate/annual-reports.

Forest & Wood Products Australia. 2020. FWPA Strategic Plan 2020-25. Melbourne: FWPA. https://fwpa.com.au/fwpa-strategic-plan-2020-25/.
Notes
  • Anything consulted online needs to have URL included.
  • Some elements of the reference may be missing – include as a much information as possible so the reader can find the source.
  • ‘Author name’ can often be an organisation or government department – you may find that publisher and author will then be the same – this is fine – include them both.
  • If you have sourced from a library database you can put in the name of the database as well as the URL - you can also leave out the URL and just use the database name if the URL link is very long and unwieldy (MarketLine for example).
In-text citation

Australian Association of Social Workers (2020, 6)  OR AASW (2020, 6)

(Australian Association of Social Workers 2020, 6)  OR (AASW 2020, 6)

See In-text citations for more information.
Reference list

Organisation Name. Year of Publication. Title of Publication. Place of Publication: Publisher. URL if online.

Australian Association of Social Workers. 2020. AASW Code of Ethics. North Melbourne: AASW. https://www.aasw.asn.au/about-aasw/ethics-standards/code-of-ethics/.

OR

AASW (Australian Association of Social Workers). 2020. AASW Code of Ethics. North Melbourne: AASW. https://www.aasw.asn.au/about-aasw/ethics-standards/code-of-ethics/.
Notes
  • For in-text citation you can do it either way as the examples above show.
  • If its a document from a website (rather than the website itself - see websites and webpages), then format the reference according to Books  - ie the Title of the Document is in italics.
  • For in-text citations - add pages numbers or other locators after the date and preceded with a comma.

 

In-text citation

MarketLine (2022)

(MarketLine 2022)

See In-text citations for more information.
Reference list

Author Last Name, First name(s) [or Organisation Name OR Publisher Name for a database]. Year of publication. Title of Report: Subtitle of Report. Name of Database/Publisher. [URL if online].

From a Database

MarketLine. 2022. Woolworths Group Limited [Company Profile]. MarketLine. https://advantage-marketline-com.ez.library.latrobe.edu.au/Company/Profile/woolworths_limited?companyprofile.

No Author

MarketLine Company Profile: Woolworths Group Limited. 2021. Business Source Ultimate (Ebsco). https://search-ebscohost-com.ez.library.latrobe.edu.au/login.aspx?direct=true&db=bsu&AN=153459799&site=ehost-live&scope=site.
Notes
  • Reference is formatted like a book - if consulted online include URL.
  • For in-text citations - add pages numbers or other locators after the date and preceded with a comma.

 

In-text citation

The report from the Victorian Government (2016, 16) goes on to outline…

(Victorian Government 2016, 16)

See In-text citations for more information.
Reference list

Government Department. Year of publication. Title of Work: Subtitle of Work, by Author's First Name(s) Last Name. Report number or other identifying information. http://xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx.

Australian Government Department of Social Services. 2016. Domestic Violence in the Longitudinal Study of Australian Children (LSAC), by Helene Shin, Helen Rogers, and Vincci Law. Research Summary 2/2015. https://www.dss.gov.au/about-the-department/longitudinal-studies/research-and-publications/research-summary-no2-2015-domestic-violence-in-the-longitudinal-study-of-australian-children.

Victorian Government. Department of Premier and Cabinet. 2016. Safe and Strong: A Victorian Gender Equality Strategy. Melbourne: Victorian Government. https://www.vic.gov.au/our-gender-equality-strategy#read-the-full-strategy.
Notes
  • Include this information where you have it and in this order:

Name of government / government department, year of publication, Title of Document /Collection, name of individual author(s) if named, report number or other identifying info if given (eg place of publication and publisher for freestanding documents), page numbers/other locators if relevant, URL, or name or database if online.

  • Omit any detail that is not available.

 

In-text citation

Euromonitor International (2022)

(Euromonitor International 2022)

See In-text citations for more information.
Reference list

Author #1 Last Name, First name [Organisation Name OR Publisher Name for a database]. Year of publication. Title of Report: Subtitle of Report. Name of Database/Publisher. [URL if online].

Publisher as Author

Euromonitor International. 2022. Digital Transformation in Fashion: Lessons from China. Analysis Briefing November 15, 2022. Passport. https://search.lib.latrobe.edu.au/permalink/f/1haboua/Almalu61212753840002146.

Person as Author

Burgio-Ficca, Claudia. 2022. Specialty Chocolate Stores in Australia. Australian Specialized Industry Report OD5411. IBISWorld. https://search.lib.latrobe.edu.au/permalink/f/ns71rj/Almalu61291259880002146.
Notes
  • Reference is formatted like a book - if consulted online include URL.
  • For in-text citations - add pages numbers or other locators after the date and preceded with a comma.

 

In-text citation

..."reaffirmed our commitment to protect, respond, include, empower and solve." (UNHCR n.d., 5) 

The latest UNHCR (n.d.) report shows...

See In-text citations for more information.
Reference list

Authorising Body (or Authors/Editors). Year of publication. Title of Publication or Topic. Place of Publication: Publisher. URL if online.

UNHCR (United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees). n.d. Global Report 2022. Switzerland: UNHCR. https://reporting.unhcr.org/document/5098.
Notes
  • Reference is formatted like a book - if consulted online include URL.
  • Identify authorising body (or authors/editors), the date of publication, the title or topic, the publisher and/or place of publication. Include series or any other identifying information.
  • Omit any detail that is not available.

 

In-text citation

The latest pamphlet from Carers Victoria (2022) ...

..."in a unique position to understand, influence and affect change across all aspects of our communities" (Carers Victoria 2022, 2)

See In-text citations for more information.
Reference list

Print

Author #1 Last Name, First name [Organisation Name ]. Year of publication. Title of Brochure/Pamphlet: Subtitle of Brochure/Pamphlet. Place of Publication: Publisher.

Department of Health and Human Services. (2017).  Hamburger Food Safety. Melbourne: Victorian Government.

Online

Author #1 Last Name, First name [Organisation Name]. Year of publication. Title of Brochure/Pamphlet: Subtitle of Brochure/Pamphlet. Place of Publication: Publisher. [URL if online].

Better Health Channel. 2015. How to Cope and Stay Safe in Extreme Heat. Brochure. Melbourne: Victorian Government. https://www.health.vic.gov.au/environmental-health/extreme-heat-community-resources.

Carers Victoria. 2022. What Carers Do Every Day is Truly Incredible: They Care for Others: We Care About Them. Brochure. Melbourne: Carers Victoria. https://www.carersvictoria.org.au/media/4408/2771-carers-vic-brochure-apr22.pdf.
Notes
  • Pamphlets and brochures are treated essentially as books.
  • Where authors or publishers don't fit the usual book format, include as much information as possible to identify the document.
In-text citations

Standards Australia (2022, 15)

(Standards Australia 2022, 15)

See In-text citations for more information.
Reference list

Standards Organisation Name, (or Industry Body Name), Year of publication. Title of Standard. Edition.Standard number/label. Location: Publisher. [URL if online].

Standards Australia. 2022. Pressure Equipment — Qualification of Welders, Welding Supervisors and Welding Inspectors.5th ed. AS 1796. Sydney: Standards Australia. Accessed January 9, 2023. https://www.standards.org.au/standards-catalogue/sa-snz.
Notes
  • Anything consulted online needs to have URL included.
  • Some elements of the reference may be missing – include as a much information as possible so the reader can find the source.
  • Standards are usually published by national and international bodies (eg. ISO or AS).
  • Reference should include name of industry group or standards organisation, the title of the standard in italics, an edition or identifying number/label, and the publication information.

 

In-text citation

MarketLine (2022)

(MarketLine 2022)

See In-text citations for more information.
Reference list

From a Database

Author #1 Last Name, First name [or Organisation Name OR Publisher Name for a database]. Year of publication. Title of Report: Subtitle of Report. Name of Database/Publisher. [URL if online].

Marketline. 2022. Marketline Industry Statistics Dashboard. Marketline. https://advantage-marketline-com.ez.library.latrobe.edu.au/Analytics/IndustryStatistics/Statistics.
Notes
  • When you use something like Marketline (a database) and use some statistics from it - in the end you are able to download the document/diagram/pdf, so it can be referenced like other reports - ie Title in italics.
  • Anything consulted online needs to have URL included.
  • Some elements of the reference may be missing – include as a much information as possible so the reader can find the source.
  • See also Statistics under Websites and Webpages.

 

In-text citation

Poulton, Meier and Horan (2020, 54) report that...

(Poulton, Meier and Horan 2020, 54)

See In-text citations for more information.
Reference list

Organisation / Association / Corporation / Department Name. Year of publication. Title of Report: Subtitle of Report. Report number. Place of Publication:  Publisher. [URL if online].

Poulton, Perry L., Elizabeth A. Meier, and Heidi Horan. 2020. Determining Crop Productivity Potential for the Pilbara: Opportunities From Irrigated Agriculture in Intensive Beef Feeding Systems. St Lucia, Qld.: CSIRO. https://doi.org/10.25919/5ed944ba5b235.
Notes
  • If applicable, the Technical or Research Report number should follow the title.
  • If retrieved online, include URL
  • For in-text citations - add pages numbers or other locators after the date and preceded with a comma.