Books and eBooks

Format
Footnote Number. Author #1 First Name Last Name and Author #2 First Name Last Name, Title (Publisher, Year), page locator.

First entry:
3. Peter R. Grant and B. Rosemary Grant, How and Why Species Multiply: The Radiation of Darwin’s Finches (Princeton University Press, 2008), 55.

Second and subsequent entries :
4. Grant and Grant, How and Why Species Multiply, 59.

See: CMOS 13.33 Basic structure of the short form.

Format

Author #1 Last Name, First Name, and Author #2 First Name Last Name. Title of Work: Subtitle of Work. Publisher, Year of publication.

Grant, Peter R., and B. Rosemary Grant. How and Why Species Multiply: The Radiation of Darwin’s Finches. Princeton University Press, 2008.

• Name each author exactly as it appears on the title page except for the first author whose last name is listed first in the bibliography.
• List authors in the order they appear on the title page.
• eBooks are cited just like print books with added information about the format you viewed. See the eBook tab for more information.

Format
Footnote Number. Author #1 First Name Last Name et al., Title (Publisher, Year), page locator.

First entry:
5. Patricia Noller et al., Personal Relationships Across the Lifespan (Psychology Press, 2001), 21.

Second and subsequent entries:
6. Noller et al., Personal Relationships Across the Lifespan, 40.

See: CMOS 13.33 Basic structure of the short form.

Format

Author #1 Last Name, First Name, Author #2 First Name Last Name, and Author #3 First Name Last Name.  Title of Work: Subtitle of Work. Publisher, Year of publication.

Noller, Patricia, Judith A. Feeney, and Candida Peterson. Personal Relationships Across the Lifespan. Psychology Press, 2001.

• List authors in the order they appear on the title page.
• In the footnote - if there are three or more authors only list the first author et al.
• If the author wrote the entire book provide a reference for the whole book.
• If there is no edition listed on the book, it is considered a first edition. There is no need to add an edition statement for a first edition.
• eBooks are cited just like print books with added information about the format you viewed. See the eBook tab for more information.
• In the bibliography - the first author appears as Surname, First name. All other authors are in the format First Name Surname,
• In the bibliography, list up to six authors but if there are more than six authors, list only the first three followed by et al.

Format
Footnote Number. Organisation Name, Title (Publisher, Year), page locator.

First entry:
7. WHO, Health and the Millennium Development Goals (World Health Organization, 2005).

Second and subsequent entries:
8. WHO, Health and the Millennium Development Goals.

See: CMOS 13.33 Basic structure of the short form.

Format

Organisation Name. Title of Work: Subtitle of Work. Edition. Publisher, Year of Publication.

Amnesty International. We Are All Born Free. Francis Lincoln Children's Books, 2008.

WHO (World Health Organization). Health and the Millennium Development Goals. World Health Organization, 2005.

• List the organisation as author if the publication was issued by the organisation.  The organisation may also be the publisher (see WHO example).
• Use the abbreviation or acronym of an organisation for the Footnote to keep Footnotes short - the corresponding Bibliography entry will be the abbreviation or acronym followed by the full spelling of the organisation name in parentheses (see WHO example).
• If there is no abbreviation or acronym, use the full name of the organisation in footnote and in the Bibliography (see Amnesty International example).
• If there is no edition listed on the book, it is considered a first edition. There is no need to add an edition statement for a first edition.
• eBooks are cited just like print books with added information about the format you viewed. See the eBook tab for more information.

Format
Footnote Number. Title (Publisher, Year), page locator.

First entry:
9. The Life of Insects (Silver Burdett, 1979), 63.

Second and subsequent entries:
10. The Life of Insects, 87.

See: CMOS 13.33 Basic structure of the short form.

Format

Title of Work: Subtitle of Work. Edition. Publisher, Year of publication.

The Life of Insects. Silver Burdett, 1979.

• In cases where no identified individual or organisation is given authorship credit for the work, move the title to the author position.  
• In the Bibliography, when alphabetizing, ignore an initial article, e.g. a, an, the. For example, in the title ‘The life of insects’, ignore ‘The’ and alphabetize as ‘Life of insects’.
• Alternatively, if there is an editor you can place the editor in the author position.  See the Edited book tab.
• If the authorship is attributed clearly to “Anonymous” (e.g. on the title page or at the head of the work), the author should be cited as Anonymous.
• If there is no edition listed on the book, it is considered a first edition. There is no need to add an edition statement for a first edition.
• eBooks are cited just like print books with added information about the format you viewed. See the eBook tab for more information.

Format
Footnote Number. Author First Name Last Name, Title (Publisher, Year), page locator.

First entry:
11. Katherine A. Seaton, Don't Cheat Yourself: Scenarios to Clarify Collusion Confusion (La Trobe eBureau, 2018), 10.

Second and subsequent entries:
12. Seaton, Don't Cheat Yourself, 15.

See: CMOS 13.33 Basic structure of the short form.

Format

Author Last Name, First Name. Title of Work: Subtitle of Work. Edition. Publisher, Year of Publication. https://doi.org/xxxxxx.

Seaton, Katherine A. Don't Cheat Yourself: Scenarios to Clarify Collusion Confusion. La Trobe eBureau, 2018. https://doi.org/10.26826/1009.

• eBooks are cited just like print books with added information about the format you viewed.  This is particularly important if you are directing the reader to a specific page or section of the book.
  • If you read the book online, add the URL or DOI to the reference.
  • If you read the book from a Library database, add the DOI, URL or database name.
  • If you downloaded a book that requires a specific app or device, add that information e.g. Adobe Digital Editions PDF, Kindle.
• Name each author exactly as it appears on the title page except for the first author whose last name is listed first.
• List authors in the order they appear on the title page.
• If the author wrote the entire book provide a reference for the whole book.
• If there is no edition listed on the book, it is considered a first edition. There is no need to add an edition statement for a first edition.

Format
Footnote Number. Author First Name Last Name, Title (Publisher, Year), page locator.

First entry:
13. Jennifer Firkins Nordstrom, Introduction to Game Theory: A Discovery Approach (Nordstrom,  2020).

Second and subsequent entries:
14. Firkins Nordstrom, Introduction to Game Theory.

See: CMOS 13.33 Basic structure of the short form.

Format - From a website:

Author Last Name, First Name. Title of Work: Subtitle of Work. Publisher, Year of Publication. https://xxxxxx.

Firkins Nordstrom, Jennifer. Introduction to Game Theory: A Discovery Approach. Jennifer Firkins Nordstrom, 2020. https://nordstromjf.github.io/.

From a library database:

Author Last Name, First Name. Title of Work: Subtitle of Work. Publisher, Year of Publication. Database Name OR URL.

Le Messurier, Mark. Teaching Tough Kids: Simple and Proven Strategies for Student Success. Routledge, 2010. Proquest Ebook Central.

OR

Le Messurier, Mark. Teaching Tough Kids: Simple and Proven Strategies for Student Success. Routledge, 2010. https://ebookcentral-proquest-com.ez.library.latrobe.edu.au/lib/latrobe/detail.action?docID=465341.

Downloaded to specific device or application:

Author Last Name, First Name. Title of Work: Subtitle of Work. Publisher, Year of Publication. Device or Application.

Le Messurier, Mark. Teaching Tough Kids: Simple and Proven Strategies for Student Success. Routledge, 2010. Adobe Digital Editions PDF.

• eBooks are cited just like print books with added information about the format you viewed.  This is particularly important if you are directing the reader to a specific page or section of the book.
  • If you read the book online, add the URL or DOI to the reference.
  • If you read the book from a Library database, add the DOI, URL or database name.
  • If you downloaded a book that requires a specific app or device, add that information e.g. Adobe Digital Editions PDF, Kindle.
• If there is no edition listed on the book, it is considered a first edition. There is no need to add an edition statement for a first edition.

Format
Footnote Number. Editor First Name Last Name, ed., Title (Publisher, Year), page locator.

First entry:
15. Simon Boag, ed., Personality Down Under: Perspectives from Australia (Nova Science, 2008), 27.

Second and subsequent entries
16. Boag, Personality Down Under, 35.

See: CMOS 13.33 Basic structure of the short form.

Format
Editor as author

Editor Last Name, First Name, ed. Title of Work: Subtitle of Work. Edition. Publisher, Year of Publication.

Boag, Simon, ed. Personality Down Under: Perspectives from Australia.  Nova Science, 2008.

Guzys, Diana, Rhonda Brown, Elizabeth Halcomb, and Dean Whitehead, eds. An Introduction to Community and Primary Health Care. 2nd ed. Cambridge University Press, 2017.

With an Author and an Editor

Author Last Name, First Name. Title of Work: Subtitle of Work. Edited by First Name Last Name. Publisher, Year of Publication.

Urbina, Susana. Essentials of Psychological Testing. Edited by Alan S. Kaufman and Nadeen L. Kaufman. 2nd ed. Wiley, 2014.

• In the Bibliography, treat the editor as you would an author and add ed. for a single editor or eds. for multiple editors when they are in the author position.
• Include an editor with an author when the editor's name is listed prominently on the title page of a book.
• Name each editor exactly as it appears on the title page except for the first editor whose last name is listed first.
• List editors in the order they appear on the title page.
• eBooks are cited just like print books with added information about the format you viewed. See the eBook tabs for more information.

Format
Footnote Number. Chapter Author(s) First Name(s) Last Name, “Chapter Title,” in Title, ed. First Name Last Name (Publisher, Year), page locator.

First entry:
17. Joy Higgs, et al., "Communication in the health sciences," in Communicating in the health sciences, ed. Joy Higgs (Oxford University Press, 2012), 7.

Second and subsequent entries:
18. Higgs et al., "Communication in the health sciences," 11.

See: CMOS 13.33 Basic structure of the short form.

Format

Author Last Name, First Name. "Title of Chapter: Subtitle of Chapter." In Title of Work: Subtitle of Work, edited by Editor's First Name Last Name. Publisher, Year of Publication.

Higgs, Joy, Lindy McAllister, and Ann Sefton. "Communication in the health sciences." In Communicating in the health sciences, edited by Joy Higgs, Rola Ajjawi, Lindy McAllister, Franziska Trede and Stephen Loftus. Oxford University Press, 2012.

• If the author wrote the entire book, then provide a reference for the whole book.
• For multiple authors of a chapter follow the same rules as for books with multiple authors.
• eBooks are cited just like print books with added information about the format you viewed. See the eBook tab for more information.
• Page range of chapter no longer needed in the bibliography.

Format
Footnote Number. Author First Name Last Name, Title, ed. (Publisher, Year), page locator.

First entry:
19. John A. Sharp et al., The Management of a Student Research Project, 3rd ed. (Routledge, 2016), 55.

Second and subsequent entries:
20. Sharp et al., Management of a Student Research Project, 75.

See: CMOS 13.33 Basic structure of the short form.

Format

Author Last Name, First Name. Title of Work: Subtitle of Work. Edition. Place of Publication: Publisher, Year of Publication.

Sharp, John A., John Peters, and Keith Howard. The Management of a Student Research Project. 3rd ed. Routledge, 2016.

• If there is no edition listed on the book, it is considered a first edition. There is no need to add an edition statement for a first edition.
• eBooks are cited just like print books with added information about the format you viewed. See the eBook tab for more information.

Format
Footnote Number. Author First Name Last Name, Title, narrated by First Name Last Name (Publisher, Year), locator.

First entry:
21. Alexis Wright, The Swan Book, narrated by Jacqui Katona (Bolinda Publishing, 2016).

Second and subsequent entries:
22. Wright, The Swan Book.

See: CMOS 13.33 Basic structure of the short form.

Format

Author Last Name, First Name. Title of Work: Subtitle of Work. Narrated by First Name Last Name. Publisher, Year of Publication. Format, duration.

Wright, Alexis. The Swan Book. Narrated by Jacqui Katona. Bolinda Publishing, 2016. Audible audio ed., 13 hr., 1 min.

• Cite the version of the text you are using.
• For the footnote, If you wish to include a specific location, a time stamp may be added after the bracket containing the year, i.e. (Publisher, Year), at x hr., x min.
• eBooks are cited just like print books with added information about the format you viewed. See the eBook tab for more information.

Format
Footnote Number. Title, ed. (Year), under “section title.”

First entry:
23. Oxford English Dictionary, 3rd ed. (2022), under “Carnyx.”

If word count is an issue OR works are less well known, you may reference them as you would a book.

Format
Major Dictionaries or Encyclopedias (if included in Bibliography)

Title, ed. (Year), under “section title.” URL.

Oxford English Dictionary, 3rd ed. (2022), under "Carnyx." https://www.oed.com/view/Entry/95173253?.

Whole title

Author Last Name, First Name. Title of Work: Subtitle of Work. Edition. Publisher, Year of Publication. URL

Bender, David. A. A Dictionary of Food and Nutrition. 4th ed. Oxford University Press, 2014. https://doi.org/10.1093/acref/9780191752391.001.0001.

Chapter or individual entry

Author Last Name, First Name. "Title of Chapter: Subtitle of Chapter or Entry." In Title of Work: Subtitle of Work, edited by Editor's First Name Last Name, Edition, page locator. Publisher, Year of Publication.

Allen, James P. "Akhenaton." In Encyclopedia of Religion, edited by Lindsay Jones, vol. 1, 2nd ed., 217. Gale eBooks, 2005.

• Major dictionaries and encyclopedias may be cited in Footnote only, rather than in Bibliography.  Most other reference works are cited like books, in Footnote and Bibliography.
• The word ‘under’ is recommended for clarity.
• They are usually cited under the title of the resource.
• An individual entry by a named author can be cited like a chapter in an edited book.
• eBooks are cited just like print books with added information about the format you viewed. See the eBook tab for more information.
• Access dates are typically not used, unless no date of publication or revision can be determined from the source.  When used, they are in the format accessed month day, year
• For online versions include a URL as the last element of the citation.

Each footnote has a different number.

Format
Footnote number. Author First Name Last Name,  Title of Work: Subtitle of Work, (Publisher, Year), pages.

First entry:
1. David Elkind, The Power of Play: How Spontaneous, Imaginative Activities Lead to Happier, Healthier Children, (Da Capo Lifelong, 2007), 24.

2. David Elkind, The Hurried Child: Growing Up Too Fast Too Soon, (Da Capo Press, 2007), 79.

Second and subsequent entries:
3. Elkind, Power of Play, 27.

4. Elkind, Hurried Child, 81.

See: CMOS 13.33 Basic structure of the short form.

Format
Author Last Name, First Name. Title of Work: Subtitle of Work. Publisher, Year.

Elkind, David. The Hurried Child: Growing Up Too Fast Too Soon. Da Capo Press, 2007.

Elkind, David. The Power of Play: How Spontaneous, Imaginative Activities Lead to Happier, Healthier Children. Da Capo Lifelong, 2007.

Arranged alphabetical by title for same authors and same year – ignoring initial articles The,  A, or An etc.

• For works by the same author (or the same group of authors listed in the same order), editors, translators, arrange the references in the Bibliography alphabetically by title. This applies to those published in the same year as well.
• All entries for the same author have to be written in – Chicago style no longer uses the 3 em dash (or long dash) for all entries after the first.  

Format

Footnote Number. Author First Name Last Name, “Title” (Paper type, Academic Institution, Year), page locator, URL or Database with Reference Number.

First entry:

24. Susanna Elizabeth Venn, “Plant recruitment across alpine summits in South-Eastern Australia," (PhD diss., La Trobe University, 2007).

25. Elizabeth Gayle Hanna. "Environmental Health and Primary Health Care: Towards a New Workforce Model." (PhD thesis, La Trobe University, 2005), http://arrow.latrobe.edu.au:8080/vital/access/manager/Repository/latrobe:19661.

Second and subsequent entries:

26. Venn, “Plant recruitment”.

27. Hanna, “Environmental Health”.

See: CMOS 13.33 Basic structure of the short form.

Format
In print:

Author Last Name, First Name. "Title of Work: Subtitle of Work." Paper type, Academic Institution, Year.

Venn, Susanna Elizabeth. "Plant recruitment across alpine summits in South-Eastern Australia." PhD thesis, La Trobe University, 2007.

From an institutional repository or website:

Author Last Name, First Name. "Title of Work: Subtitle of Work." Paper type, Academic Institution, Year. URL.

Hanna, Elizabeth Gayle. "Environmental Health and Primary Health Care: Towards a New Workforce Model." PhD thesis, La Trobe University, 2005. http://arrow.latrobe.edu.au:8080/vital/access/manager/Repository/latrobe:19661.

From a library database:

Author Last Name, First Name. "Title of Work: Subtitle of Work." Paper type, Academic Institution, Year. Database Name.

Murray, Kate Elizabeth. "Sudanese in Australia: Renewal and Hope." PhD diss., Arizona State University, 2009. ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global.

• Theses and dissertations are cited like books except the title is in inverted commas, not in italics.
• Abbreviate dissertation to diss.
• Where the paper is consulted online in a database, add any identification number supplied or recommended by the database, in brackets, i.e. Database (identification number).

Format
Footnote Number. Author First Name Last Name, Title, trans. Translator First Name Last Name (Publisher, Year).

First entry:

28. Pierre Simon Laplace, A Philosophical Essay on Probabilities (1814), trans. F. W. Truscott and F. L. Emory. (Dover, 1951), 45.

Second and subsequent entries:

29. Laplace, Philosophical Essay on Probabilities, 56.

See: CMOS 13.33 Basic structure of the short form.

Format

Author Last Name, First Name. Title of Work: Subtitle of Work. Translated by First Name Last Name. Edition. Publisher, Year.

Laplace, Pierre Simon. A Philosophical Essay on Probabilities. Translated by F. W. Truscott and F. L. Emory. Dover, (1814) 1951.

• Cite the version of the text you are using.
• The term “Translated” is simplified in the Footnote to trans.
• You may choose to include the original publication date if it will be useful (see Laplace example).
• eBooks are cited just like print books with added information about the format you viewed. See the eBook tabs for more information.

Format

Footnote Number. Author First Name Last Name, Title (Publisher, Year), page locator.

First entry:

30. William M. Pride et. al, Marketing Planning and Strategy in a Competitive Environment  (Cengage Learning, 2012), 40.

Second and subsequent entries:

31. Pride et. al, Marketing Planning and Strategy, 48.

See: CMOS 13.33 Basic structure of the short form.

Format

Author Last Name, First Name. "Title of Chapter: Subtitle of Chapter." In Title of Work: Subtitle of Work, edited by Editor's First Name Last Name. Publisher, Year.

Pride, William M, O. C. Ferrell, Brian A. Lukas, Sharon Schembri, and Outi Niininen. "Marketing Planning and Strategy in a Competitive Environment.", in Marketing Principles. Cengage Learning, 2012.

• You may need to locate the original source for a particular page number.
• Page range of chapter no longer needed in bibliography. See 13.25.