Social Media

Footnote

Format

Footnote Number. Author name (Screen name), “Text of post up to 280 characters, capitalised as the original”, Type of post, Month Day , Year. http://xxxxxxxxxxxxx.

First entry:

1. La Trobe University library, “We've just launched our first ever Greek Archives digital exhibition! Discover traditional costumes from different regions of Greece in our Hellenic Folk Dress exhibition." Facebook, December 1, 2022. https://www.facebook.com/photo/?fbid=593690536092282&set=a.398626745598663.

Comments on posts are usually cited in the text but if needed in a footnote, can be styled like this example:

2. Koula Karandaglidis Papagiannopoulos stated the "pride of wearing these costumes is priceless,” reply to La Trobe University Library December 1, 2022, https://www.facebook.com/photo/?fbid=593690536092282&set=a.398626745598663

Second and subsequent entries:

3. La Trobe Library, “First Greek Archive exhibition,” https://www.facebook.com/photo/?fbid=593690536092282&set=a.398626745598663

Bibliography

An entry in the bibliography is not usually required. See CMOS 14.106 for more information.

Notes

Post and comments on social media are usually cited in the text or in a footnote and don’t require an entry in the bibliography
In the footnote include enough text from the post to identify it (up to 280 characters, include emojis and add the URL)
For direct messages and personal or private content, follow the guidelines for citing personal communications.
See CMOS 14.106 for more information.

Footnote

Format

Footnote Number. Author First Name Surname, “Title of Post” Title of Blog(blog), Title of Publication where blog appears, Month day, year, URL.

First entry:

1.Kate Ainsworth, “Qantas Boss Alan Joyce Says Airline ‘Back at its Best’ After ‘Routinely’ Disappointing Customers,” The Loop (blog), ABC News, February 3, 2023, https://www.abc.net.au/news/2023-02-03/live-news-blog-the-loop-iraq-tom-brady-mason-greenwood/101925582?utm_campaign=abc_news_web&utm_content=link&utm_medium=content_shared&utm_source=abc_news_web#live-blog-post-20106.

Second or subsequent entries:

2.Kate Ainsworth, “Qantas Boss Alan Joyce Says Airline ‘Back at its Best’,”

See 14.105 for more information.

Bibliography

Format

Author of Post Last Name, First Name(s). "Title of the Post." Title of the Blog (blog). Title of Publication where blog appears, Month day, year. URL.

Ainsworth, Kate. “Qantas Boss Alan Joyce Says Airline ‘Back at its Best’ After ‘Routinely’ Disappointing Customers.” The Loop (blog). ABC News, February 3, 2023. https://www.abc.net.au/news/2023-02-03/live-news-blog-the-loop-iraq-tom-brady-mason-greenwood/101925582?utm_campaign=abc_news_web&utm_content=link&utm_medium=content_shared&utm_source=abc_news_web#live-blog-post-20106./.

Notes

Blog posts can be cited like online newspaper articles - include author of post, "title of the post ", title of blog, date of the post, and a URL.
Add (blog) after the title of the blog if it isn't included in the title already.
If blog is part of a bigger publication you can add the name of the larger publication.
If you need to cite the whole blog in the bibliography, it goes under Author if there is one, or under the blog Title.

Footnote

Format

Footnote Number. Author of post First Name Last Name, Month Day, Year, comment on Blog Author Last Name, “Blog Post”

First entry:

1. Kel, November 16, 2022, comment on Kikken “How to Manage Soft Plastic Recycling.”

Bibliography

Format

Author of Post Last Name, First Name(s). "Title of the Post." Title of the Blog (blog). Title of Publication where blog appears, Month day, year. URL.

Kikken, Natalie. “How to Manage Soft Plastic Recycling.” CSIROscope (blog). November 16, 2022. https://blog.csiro.au/soft-plastics-recycling//.

Notes

Comments on blog posts are usually just cited in a footnote - they don't really warrant an entry in bibliography. See CMOS 14.105.
In the footnote relate the comment to the blog post which you will have in the bibliography. See Blog post tab.