Newspaper articles

Footnote

Format

Footnote number. Author First Name Last Name, “Title of Article,” Title of Newspaper (Location), Month, Day, Year, Database.

1. Katheryn Bermingham, “We live 20km Form the Murray But Now We’re Uninsurable,” Advertiser (Adelaide, Australia), January 9, 2023, Factiva.

Bibliography

Format

Author Last Name, First Name(s). Year of publication. "Title of Article." Title of Newspaper (Location), Month Day, Year. URL or Name of Database.

Bermingham, Kathryn. “We Live 20km From the Murray But Now We’re Uninsurable.” Advertiser, January 9, 2023. Factiva.

Notes

Leave out the initial The before a newspapers name (eg.The Sydney Morning Herald becomes Sydney Morning Herald) in the footnote and bibliography.
Include the date of issue (month day, year) of the newspaper after the newspaper’s title in the footnote and bibliography.
Include the name of the database OR the URL, after the date in the footnote, separated by a comma.
Include the name of the database OR the URL, after the date in the bibliography, separated by a full stop.
A city name, if not part of the title of a local newspaper, may be added in parenthesis (brackets) after the title in the footnote and bibliography.
See CMOS 14.89- 14.98 for further information.

Footnote

Format

Footnote number. Author First Name Last Name, “Title of Article,” Title of Newspaper (Location), Month, Day, Year, page number.

2. David Rumbens, “How Victoria Can Avoid the Recession threatening Europe,” Age (Melbourne, Australia), October 24, 2022, p. 23.

Bibliography

Format

Author Last Name, First Name(s). "Title of Article." Title of Newspaper (Location), Month Day, Year.

Rumbens, David. “How Victoria Can Avoid the Recession Threatening Europe.” Age (Melbourne, Australia), October 24, 2022.

Notes

Leave out the initial The before a newspapers name (eg.The Sydney Morning Herald becomes Sydney Morning Herald) in the footnote and bibliography.
Include the date of issue (month day, year) of the newspaper after the title in the footnote and bibliography.
Add the page number if available, after the date in the footnote.
Page numbers are usually not included in the in the bibliography.
A city name, if not part of the title of a local newspaper, may be added in parenthesis (brackets) after the title in the footnote and the bibliography.
See CMOS 14.89- 14.98 for further information.

Footnote

Format - With Author

Footnote number Author First Name Last Name, “Title of Article,” Title of Newspaper (Location), Month, Day, Year, URL.

3. James Woodford, “Wollemi Pines' Survival Shows What Humans Can do When Determined,” Guardian (Australia edition), January 17, 2020, https://www.theguardian.com/australia-news/2020/jan/17/wollemi-pines-time-travellers-from-a-different-australia.

Format - No Author

Footnote number. Title of Newspaper, "Title of Article," Year, Month, Day, Year, URL.

4. Newcastle Herald, “Australian Community Media Joins Fight for Press Freedom and Your Right to Know,” October 21, 2019, https://www.newcastleherald.com.au/story/6447711/its-time-to-fight-for-your-right-to-know/?cs=7573.

Bibliography

Format - With Author

Author Last Name, First Name(s). "Title of Article." Title of Newspaper, Month Day, Year. URL.

Woodford, James. 2020. “Wollemi Pines' Survival Shows What Humans Can do When Determined.” Guardian (Australia edition), January 17, 2020. https://www.theguardian.com/australia-news/2020/jan/17/wollemi-pines-time-travellers-from-a-different-australia.

Format - No Author

Title of Newspaper. "Title of Article." Year, Month Day, Year. URL.

Newcastle Herald. 2019. “Australian Community Media Joins Fight for Press Freedom and Your Right to Know.” October 21, 2019. https://www.newcastleherald.com.au/story/6447711/its-time-to-fight-for-your-right-to-know/?cs=7573.

Notes

Newspapers with international editions may have to be identified by country - see CMOS 14.91.
Use the Newspaper Title to replace author where there is no listed author.

Footnote

Format

With Author(s)

Footnote number Author #1 First Name Last Name and Author #2 First Name Last Name, “Title of Article,” Title of Online News Source, Month, Day, Year, URL.

5. Andrew Osborn and Anton Zverev, “Russian Parliament Backs Putin's Pick for PM After January Revolution,” Reuters, January 19, 2020, https://www.reuters.com/article/us-russia-politics-mishustin/russian-parliament-backs-putins-pick-for-pm-after-january-revolution-idUSKBN1ZF0N8.

No Author

Footnote number Title of Online New Source, "Title of Article," Month Day, Year. URL.

6. ABC News, “Virgin Orbit’s First Satellite Launch from Western Europe Fails After Company Reports ‘Anomaly’,” January 10, 2023, 2.15 pm. https://www.abc.net.au/news/2023-01-10/virgin-orbit-reports-anomaly-in-satellite-launch/101840086.

Bibliography

Format - With Author

Author #1Last Name, First Name(s), and Author #2 First Name(s) Last Name. "Title of Article." Title of Online News Source. Month Day, Year. URL.

Osborn, Andrew, and Anton Zverev. “Russian Parliament Backs Putin's Pick for PM After January Revolution.” Reuters, January 19, 2020. https://www.reuters.com/article/us-russia-politics-mishustin/russian-parliament-backs-putins-pick-for-pm-after-january-revolution-idUSKBN1ZF0N8.

Format - No author

Title of Online New Source. Year. "Title of Article." Month Day, Year. URL.

ABC News. “Virgin Orbit’s First Satellite Launch from Western Europe Fails After Company Reports ‘Anomaly’.” January 10, 2023, 2.15 pm. https://www.abc.net.au/news/2023-01-10/virgin-orbit-reports-anomaly-in-satellite-launch/101840086.

Notes

Use for news services like ABC News, HuffPost, CNN, Reuters, Associated Press - where Titles are capitalised but not italicised.
Sometimes a time stamp might be useful if the news story has just come out and may be revised as more detail is found out.
See CMOS 14.98 for further information.