Skip to Main Content

Multiple authors/Corporate authors

 

Footnotes

All resource types

1. Bill Gammage, The Biggest Estate on Earth: How Aborigines Made Australia (Crows Nest, NSW:  Allen & Unwin, 2011), 102.

2. Emma Moreton, ‘Profiling the Female Emigrant: A Method of Linguistic Inquiry for Examining Correspondence Collections’, Gender and History, 24/3 (2012), 627.

Bibliography

All resource types

Gammage, Bill, The Biggest Estate on Earth: How Aborigines Made Australia (Crows Nest, NSW: Allen & Unwin, 2011).

Moreton, Emma ‘Profiling the Female Emigrant: A Method of Linguistic Inquiry for Examining Correspondence Collections’, Gender and History, 24/3 (2012), 627.

Notes
  • In the footnotes author names are in format: first name surname,
  • In the bibliography the author names are inverted (ie surname, first name).
  • The author’s name should be cited as it appears on the book. If the author’s first name is printed on the book, use it. If an author goes by first initials, use those instead, i.e. J.K. Rowling instead of Joanne Kathleen Rowling..

 

Footnotes

All resource types

1. Larry Ceplair and Steven Englund, Steven, The Inquisition in Hollywood: Politics in the Film Community, 1930-1960 (Garden City, NY: Anchor Press/Doubleday, 1980), 55

2. Mark Pendleton and Tanya Serisier, ‘Beyond the Desire for Law: Sex and Crisis in Australian Feminist and Queer Politics’, Australian Feminist Law Journal, 31 (2009), 92-4.

Bibliography

All resource types

Ceplair, Larry, and Englund, Steven, The Inquisition in Hollywood: Politics in the Film Community, 1930-1960 (Garden City, NY: Anchor Press/Doubleday, 1980).

Pendleton, Mark and Serisier, Tanya, ‘Beyond the Desire for Law: Sex and Crisis in Australian Feminist and Queer Politics’, Australian Feminist Law Journal, 31 (2009), 92-4.

Notes
  • Two or three authors are cited in the order they appear on the resource being used.
  • In the footnotes author names are in format: first name surname,
  • In the bibliography the author names are inverted (ie surname, first name).
  • The author’s name should be cited as it appears on the book. If the author’s first name is printed on the book, use it. If an author goes by first initials, use those instead, i.e. J.K. Rowling instead of Joanne Kathleen Rowling.
Footnotes

All resource types

1. Patricia Grimshaw et al., Creating a Nation (Ringwood, Vic: McPhee Gribble, 1994), 30.

2. M. H. Moncel et al., ‘Non-Utilitarian Lithic Objects from the European Paleolithic’, Archaeology, Ethnology & Anthropology of Eurasia, 40/1 (2012), 24-40.

Bibliography

All resource types

Grimshaw, Patricia, et al., Creating a Nation (Ringwood, Vic: McPhee Gribble, 1994).

Moncel, M.H. et al., ‘Non-Utilitarian Lithic Objects from the European Paleolithic’, Archaeology, Ethnology & Anthropology of Eurasia, 40/1 (2012), 24-40.

Notes
  • For four or more authors, only list first author followed by et al.
  • In the footnotes author names are in format: first name surname,
  • In the bibliography the author names are inverted (ie surname, first name)
  • The author’s name should be cited as it appears on the book. If the author’s first name is printed on the book, use it. If an author goes by first initials, use those instead, i.e. J.K. Rowling instead of Joanne Kathleen Rowling.
Footnotes

All resource types

1. Richard Broome, Aboriginal Australians: A History Since 1788 (4th edn., Crows Nest, NSW: Allen & Unwin, 2010), 34.

2. Richard Broome, Aboriginal Victorians: A History Since 1800 (Crows Nest, NSW: Allen & Unwin, 2005), 45.

Bibliography

All resource types

Broome, Richard, Aboriginal Victorians: A History Since 1800 (Crows Nest, NSW: Allen & Unwin, 2005).

Broome, Richard, Aboriginal Australians: A History Since 1788 (4th edn., Crows Nest, NSW: Allen & Unwin, 2010).

Notes  
  • In the bibliography arrange works by the same author first by the author’s name and then by the year of publication with the earliest year first.
  • In the example above, Richard Broome’s book from 2010 might be cited in an essay before the 2005 book, but in the bibliography the 2005 book will be listed before the 2010.
  • In earlier editions of the manual an em dash or dashes were used where there were multiple works by the same author  - this is no longer the case - see page 348 of New Harts Rules 2nd ed 2014 https://search.lib.latrobe.edu.au/permalink/f/ns71rj/Almalu51361321400002146
Footnotes

Author, Title (Place of Publication: Publisher, year), page extent.

1. Philip Roth, Novels and Other Narratives, 1986-1991 (New York: Library of America, 2008), 134.

2. Philip Roth, Indignation (Boston: Houghton Mifflin, 2008), 48.

Bibliography

Author, Title (Place of Publication: Publisher, year).

Roth, Philip, Indignation (Boston: Houghton Mifflin, 2008).

Roth, Philip, Novels and Other Narratives, 1986-1991 (New York: Library of America, 2008).

Notes
  • If you use more than one reference by the same author (or the same group of authors listed in the same order) published in the same year, list them in the Footnotes in the order that they are cited.
  • In the Bibliography organise them first by the author's name, then alphabetically by the title of the book, article etc.
Footnotes

Organisation/Business Name, Title [web document] (year) URL, page extent or para. number, access date.

Australian Broadcasting Corporation, Annual Report 2011 [web document] (2011) http://abc.net.au/corp/annual_reports/ar11/pdf/ar2010_11_complete_report.pdf 44, accessed 22 Nov. 2012.

Organisation/Business Name, Title (Place of Publication: Publisher, Year), page extent.

La Trobe University, Responsible Futures: Sustainability Report 2010 (Bundoora, VIC: La Trobe University, 2011), 17.

Bibliography

Organisation/Business Name, Title [web document] (year) URL, access date.

Australian Broadcasting Corporation, Annual Report 2011 [web document] (2011) http://abc.net.au/corp/annual_reports/ar11/pdf/ar2010_11_complete_report.pdf, accessed 22 Nov. 2012.

Organisation/Business Name, Title (Place of Publication: Publisher, Year).

La Trobe University, Responsible Futures: Sustainability Report 2010 (Bundoora, VIC: La Trobe University, 2011).

Notes
  • Organisation or corporate authors are quite common - in government documents (where the information is more important than an author) and a lot of information from websites - where the website name is used as corporate author (eg. Who Health Organisation, Dept of Education Victoria)
  • The examples above are for either an online document or PDF version found online.
  • If the document is a PDF, reference the page number of your quote in the Footnote; see the Footnote example above.
  • If the document is on a webpage , reference the paragraph number of your quote in the Footnote.
Footnotes

Title (Place of Publication: Publisher, year), page extent.

A Woman in Berlin, tr. James Stern (London: Secker & Warburg, 1955), 19.

Beowulf, ed., tr. Michael Swanton (Manchester: MUP, 1978), 189.

Rig Veda: An Anthology: One Hundred and Eight Hymns, Selected, Translated and Annotated, tr. Wendy Doniger (Harmondsworth, UK: Penguin Books, 1981), 255-263.
 

Bibliography

Anon., Title (Place of Publication: Publisher, year).

Anon., A  Woman in Berlin, tr. James Stern (London: Secker & Warburg, 1955).

Anon., Beowulf, ed., tr. Michael Swanton (Manchester: MUP, 1978).

Anon., Rig Veda: An Anthology: One Hundred and Eight Hymns, Selected, Translated and Annotated, tr. Wendy Doniger (Harmondsworth, UK: Penguin Books, 1981).

Notes
  •  In the bibliography Anon., may be included at the start of the citation where the author’s name would ordinarily go; citations are then listed alphabetically by title.
  • Do not use Anon., in the footnote; begin the citation with the title.
  • If the book has an editor or translator their name should appear after the title with ed. or tr. used to indicate editor or translaor (see example above)
  • The Beowulf example above has both editor and translator as the same person, if editor and translator are different people, separate their names with ‘and’
  • If the author’s name is not given on the text, but is known from other sources, their [name should be bracketed] at the start of the citation where the author’s name would go.
  • See specific resource types to find out how the footnote/bibliography looks for 'no author' in these situations. (fix)