Oxford

La Trobe University Library La Trobe Library

Oxford

Academic Referencing Tool
La Trobe University Library La Trobe Library

Oxford

Academic Referencing Tool
La Trobe University Library La Trobe Library

Oxford

Academic Referencing Tool

Journal articles

Footnotes

Author, ‘Article Title’, Periodical Title, volume/issue (year), page extent.

Lila Corwin Berman, ‘Jewish Urban Politics in the City and Beyond’, The Journal of American History, 99/2 (2012), 493.

Bibliography

Author, ‘Article Title’, Periodical Title, volume/issue (year), page extent.

Berman, Lila Corwin, ‘Jewish Urban Politics in the City and Beyond’, The Journal of American History, 99/2 (2012), 492-519.

Notes
  • If you have an article as a PDF document, cite it as you would a print journal; the PDF version is exactly the same as the print version.
  • You do not need to state anywhere that it is a PDF
  • If you do not have the PDF version of an article, see the instructions for citing an ‘Article from a database (non-PDF)’
  • Any journal which requires your university login should be cited as an ‘Article from a database’
  • A journal that belongs to a database will always have visible information about the database name, i.e. ProQuest, JStor, Expanded Academic, Cambridge Journals, etc.
  • If you are unsure whether or not the journal is in a database, contact the librarians at your campus library.

 

Footnotes

Author, ‘Article Title’, Periodical Title, volume/issue (year), para. number, in Database Name [online database], access date.

Stephen Daisley, ‘New Sheriffs of the Old West: How Superhero Gunslingers Tell the Story of America’, Commentary, 134/2 (2012), para. 5, in Expanded Academic ASAP [online database], accessed 28 Nov. 2012.

Derek John Roberts, ‘Secret Ink: Tattoo’s Place in Contemporary American Culture’, The Journal of American Culture, 35/2 (2012), para. 2, in ProQuest [online database], accessed 28 Nov. 2012.

Bibliography

Author, ‘Article Title’, Periodical Title, volume/issue (year), in Database Name [online database], access date.

Daisley, Stephen, ‘New Sheriffs of the Old West: How Superhero Gunslingers Tell the Story of America’, Commentary, 134/2 (2012), in Expanded Academic ASAP [online database], accessed 28 Nov. 2012.

Roberts, Derek John, ‘Secret Ink: Tattoo’s Place in Contemporary American Culture’, The Journal of American Culture, 35/2 (2012), para. 2, in ProQuest [online database], accessed 28 Nov. 2012.

Notes
  •  This example differs from referencing a PDF because the online html version of an article won’t have page numbers to refer to.
  • Instead of citing a page number, refer to the paragraph number. Don’t worry if it isn’t exact; just give a good estimation of where to find the quote you used.
  • Any journal which requires your university login should be cited as an ‘Article from a database’
  • A journal that belongs to a database will always have visible information about the database name, i.e. ProQuest, JStor, Expanded Academic, Cambridge Journals, etc.
  • If you are unsure whether or not the journal is in a database, contact the librarians at your campus library
  • For clarification of this style rule see section 15.15.3 of R.M. Ritter, Oxford Style Manual (Oxford: OUP, 2003). .
Footnotes

Author, ‘Article Title’, Journal Title, volume/issue (year), page extent.

Emma Moreton, ‘Profiling the Female Emigrant: A Method of Linguistic Inquiry for Examining Correspondence Collections’, Gender and History, 24/3 (2012), 627.

Bibliography

Author, ‘Article Title’, Journal Title, volume/issue (year), page extent.

Moreton, Emma, ‘Profiling the Female Emigrant: A Method of Linguistic Inquiry for Examining Correspondence Collections’, Gender and History, 24/3 (2012), 617-646.

Footnotes

Author and Author, ‘Article Title’, Journal Title, volume/issue (year), page extent.

Mark Pendleton and Tanya Serisier, ‘Beyond the Desire for Law: Sex and Crisis in Australian Feminist and Queer Politics’, Australian Feminist Law Journal, 31 (2009), 92-4.

Bibliography

Author and Author, ‘Article Title’, Journal Title, volume/issue (year), page extent.

Pendleton, Mark and Serisier, Tanya, ‘Beyond the Desire for Law: Sex and Crisis in Australian Feminist and Queer Politics’, Australian Feminist Law Journal, 31 (2009), 77-98.

Footnotes

First Author et al., ‘Article Title’, Journal Title, volume/issue (year), page extent.

M.H. Moncel et al., ‘Non-Utilitarian Lithic Objects from the European Paleolithic’, Archaeology, Ethnology & Anthropology of Eurasia, 40/1 (2012), 29.

Bibliography

First Author et al., ‘Article Title’, Journal Title, volume/issue (year), page extent.

Moncel, M.H. et al., ‘Non-Utilitarian Lithic Objects from the European Paleolithic’, Archaeology, Ethnology & Anthropology of Eurasia, 40/1 (2012), 24-40.

Footnotes

‘Article Title’, Journal Title, volume/issue (year), page extent.

‘Federation Square: A Tribute to the Skill of the Construction Industry’, Construct in Steel, 15/2 (2002), 13.

Bibliography

‘Article Title’, Journal Title, volume/issue (year), page extent.

‘Federation Square: A Tribute to the Skill of the Construction Industry’, Construct in Steel, 15/2 (2002), 12-14.

Notes
  • If an article has no known author (i.e. if it is anonymous) list it alphabetically by its title in the bibliography.
  • For journal articles without an author, do not use Anon for the bibliography entry; this is only for books.
Footnotes

Author, ‘Article title’, Journal Title [online journal], volume/issue (year), page or para. number, URL, access date.

Paul D. Shapiro, ‘Someone to Sink Your Teeth Into: Gendered Biting Patterns on Buffy the Vampire Slayer – A Quantitative Analysis, Slayage: The Online International Journal of Buffy Studies [online journal], 7/2 (2008), para. 11, http://slayageonline.com/PDF/Shapiro.pdf, accessed 26 Nov. 2012.

Philip Morrissey, ‘Aboriginal Children’, Australian Humanities Review [online journal], 42 (2007), para. 4, http://www.australianhumanitiesreview.org/archive/Issue-August-September-2007/Morrissey.html, accessed 26 Nov. 2012.

Bibliography

Author, ‘Article title’, Journal Title [online journal], volume/issue (year), page extent if relevant, URL, access date.

Morrissey, Philip, ‘Aboriginal Children’, Australian Humanities Review [online journal], 42 (2007), http://www.australianhumanitiesreview.org/archive/Issue-August-September-2007/Morrissey.html, accessed 26 Nov. 2012.

Shapiro, Paul D., ‘Someone to Sink Your Teeth Into: Gendered Biting Patterns on Buffy the Vampire Slayer – A Quantitative Analysis, Slayage: The Online International Journal of Buffy Studies [online journal], 7/2 (2008), http://slayageonline.com/PDF/Shapiro.pdf, accessed 26 Nov. 2012.

Notes
  • This citation is for articles from online journals which do not belong to a library database
  • The two examples above are both freely accessible online journals that do not require logins
  • If the article has page numbers, cite the exact page number of your quote or paraphrase in the footnote and the extent of the page numbers in the bibliography; if there aren’t page numbers, refer to the paragraph number in the footnote instead. Don’t worry if it isn’t exact; just give a good estimation of where to find the quote you used.
  • Open-access journals can be referenced with this citation style
  • Any journal which requires your university login should be cited as an ‘Article from a database’
  • A journal that belongs to a database will always have visible information about the database name, i.e. ProQuest, JStor, Expanded Academic, Cambridge Journals, etc.
  • If you are unsure whether or not the journal is in a database, contact the librarians at your campus library
  • If you are also unsure about the quality of an online journal, contact the librarians at your campus library
  • For clarification of this style rule see section 15.15.3 of R.M. Ritter, Oxford Style Manual (Oxford: OUP, 2003)

If you come across any inconsistencies with the referencing examples in ART, send your feedback to libreftool@latrobe.edu.au.

Important note: These guidelines have been designed to be used in university coursework, e.g. essays, reports, presentations. For work that is required to be published, or communicated to an audience wider than the University, please consult the appropriate publication manual, your publisher, the University Copyright Officer, and / or your research supervisor for guidance.

La Trobe University Library    |     Contacts    |    Accessibility   |    Privacy   |    Copyright and Disclaimer   |    Aboriginal acknowledgment