Style notes

Notes    

Bibliography

• The bibliography is listed at the end of the essay and is a complete list of all the resources you have used while researching your essay. It should include the references you have cited as well as other sources you may have read but did not quote from.
• If your lecturer asks for a reference list rather than a bibliography, only list the resources you actually refer to in your essay (the ones in your footnotes). A reference list should not have additional resources listed that were not cited in the essay.
• An annotated bibliography is when you need to include a short description of each resource you have included in the bibliography. You need only write a sentence or two about the value of the resource to your research/essay topic.

Formatting

• Arrange items in the bibliography alphabetically by author surname.
• Do not number the references in a bibliography.
• Do not include page numbers for books.
• Entries being to the full left, with second and subsequent lines indented - ie use 'hanging' indent option in Word. e.g.:

Stephen Daisley, ‘New Sheriffs of the Old West: How Superhero Gunslingers Tell the Story of America’, Commentary, 134/2 (2012), para. 5, in Expanded Academic ASAP [online database], accessed 28 Nov. 2012

• Do not subdivide a bibliography into categories. Exception: lecturers may ask you to divide references into Primary and Secondary sources.

Spelling

• Always spell author names and titles of sources as they appear on the source, even if the spelling seems incorrect or is not proper English grammar (i.e. American spelling of words without the ‘u’, etc.).

Capitalization

• Capitalization (1) – Capitalize the first word in titles and then all nouns, strong or main verbs, adjectives, and adverbs, leaving as lower-case any conjunctions, prepositions, and articles not starting the title; pronouns are capitalized according to their importance. Subtitles follow the same formula.
• Capitalization (2) – The Oxford Style Manual prefers names to be fully capitalized in a bibliography, but most Oxford published journals and books do not actually capitalize the whole name. The La Trobe University Library has interpreted this to mean that it is not mandatory to capitalize all the letters in author names. Students wishing to capitalize author names should not be penalised for incorrectly formatted citations.
• If you choose to capitalize author names, be consistent and capitalize ALL AUTHOR NAMES, not just some of them.

URL

• Always provide a full URL for web-based resources that are not from a library database. Double-check the link works.
• If your source is from a library database, you do not need to provide a URL as access to the resource needs a university login and will not link directly.

Abbreviations

Some of the more often used examples are listed here:

ed.  - editor
eds.  - editors
edn.  - edition
n.d.  - for no date.
et al.  - and other authors
rev.  - revised
trans. or tr.  - translator or translated by
vol.  - volume
Ibid  - From the Latin 'ibidem' meaning 'in the same place'

Authors

Footnotes

• The author/s name/s should be written as first name last name
• The author’s name should be cited as it appears on the resource. If the author’s first name is printed, use it. If an author goes by first initials, use those instead, i.e. J.K. Rowling instead of Joanne Kathleen Rowling.
• When citing an edited version of an original work, list the entry in the bibliography under the original author’s name and write ed. before the name/s of the editor/s. Do not put this ed. in brackets. If there is more than one editor, still write ed., not eds. In the example below Marcus Weigelt is the editor and translator of this edition of a very old text, but Immanuel Kant is the original author, so the book is listed in the bibliography under Kant’s name:

Kant, Immanuel, Kritik der Reinen Vernunft [Critique of Pure Reason], ed., tr. Marcus Weigelt (London: Penguin, 2007).

• As with editors, translators and revisers are named after the title with tr. or rev. where the ed. is written in the Kant example above
• Some journals only use author initials; just use the initials if that is all the information available.
• For more than three authors, only list first author followed by et al

Bibliography

• Arrange works by the same author first by the author’s name and then by the year of publication with the earliest year first. Only write the author’s full name on the first entry; for subsequent items you can use a shortened form of name and book title (if it shortens nicely). E.g. the second title below is also by Richard Broome:

Broome, Richard, Aboriginal Victorians: A History Since 1800 (Crows Nest, NSW: Allen & Unwin, 2005).
Broome, Aboriginal Australians: A History Since 1788, (4th edn., Crows Nest, NSW: Allen & Unwin, 2010).

• If you use more than one reference by the same author (or the same group of authors listed in the same order) published in the same year, organise them first by the author’s name, then alphabetically by the title of the book, article, etc. E.g. the following books by Philip Roth were both published in 2008; the book Indignation would be listed before Novels and Other Narratives in the bibliography.

Roth, Philip, Indignation (Boston: Houghton Mifflin, 2008).
Roth, Novels and Other Narratives, 1986-1991 (New York: Library of America, 2008).

• The author’s name should be cited as it appears on the resource. If the author’s first name is printed, use it. If an author goes by first initials, use those instead, i.e. J.K. Rowling instead of Joanne Kathleen Rowling.
• Some journals only use author initials; just use the initials if that is all the information available.
• For more than three authors, only list first author followed by et al
• If an author has numerous entries, including their own works, as an editor and as an author of a multi-authored work, list all single authored titles first, alphabetically by title, followed by the author’s works as an editor. The multi-authored works should be listed last, alphabetically by title. See rule 18.1.3 New Hart's Rules (2nd edn, Oxford: OUP, 2014).

Titles

• Article titles should be enclosed in ‘single quotation marks’
• Capitalization – Capitalize the first word in titles and then all nouns, strong or main verbs, adjectives, and adverbs, leaving as lower-case any conjunctions, prepositions, and articles not starting the title; pronouns are capitalized according to their importance. Subtitles follow the same formula.
• Use italics for the titles of books, journals and newspapers
• Book titles that appear within source titles are ‘placed in quotation marks’, e.g.:

Stoneman, Patsy, Bronte Transformations: the Cultural Dissemination of ‘Jane Eyre’ and ‘Wuthering Heights’ (London: Prentice Hall, 1996).

• Titles in a foreign language can be translated into English [in square brackets after the foreign title] and without quotation marks. Only translate the title for a book that is wholly in another language, e.g.:

Gabriel Garcia Marquez, Cronica de una Muerte Anunciada [Chronicle of a Death Foretold] (4th end., Barcelona: Debolsillo, 2009), 97.

• Quotation marks within chapter titles become double quotation marks
• If an introduction or foreword has a specific title it can be styled as a chapter in a book; otherwise use introduction or foreword as a descriptor, without quotation marks, e.g. the footnote entry would appear as:

William Shakespeare, introduction in The Tempest, ed. Martin Butler (London: Penguin, 2007), xxi-xxv.

The entry in the bibliography would appear as:

Shakespeare, William, The Tempest, ed. Martin Butler (London: Penguin, 2007)

• If citing a book which has had a change of title, see rule 18.2.13 in the New Oxford Style Manual (2nd edn., Oxford: OUP, 2012).
• Editions – second and subsequent editions should be cited after the title, e.g.:

Richard Broome, Aboriginal Australians: A History Since 1788 (4th edn., Crows Nest, NSW: Allen & Unwin, 2010), 34.

• Second and further editions are always placed in (parentheses, before the City of Publication). If you are citing a new or revised edition, write this after the title, but before the parentheses, e.g:

Jean-Paul Sartre, Critique de la Raison Dialectique [Critique of Pure Reason], new edn. (Paris: Gallimard, 1985), 34.

• If an edition is a revision or a reprint of an early edition, but does not have a new editor, include (rev., City of Publication: Publisher, year) or (repr., City of Publication: Publisher, year).

Publishing information

• Only cite the first city listed in the publication details
• If the city of publication is not a major, well known city or could be confused for a different city of the same name, note the state after it, i.e. Crows Nest, NSW or Hoboken, NJ (for the city in New Jersey) or Cambridge, MA (for the city in Massachusetts, USA).
• Country and state capitals shouldn’t need a state abbreviation.
• You do not need to refer to the country of publication.
• A city should be referred to by its modern name, i.e. St. Petersburg rather than Leningrad; and using the English form when there is a difference in the publishing details, i.e. Prague rather than Praha; Rome rather than Roma; Brussels rather than Bruxelles.
• If there is no city of publication, write n.p. (for ‘no place’)
• For a published item the date goes in parentheses; for an unpublished work, do not place the date in parentheses
• If no date can be found use n.d. (for ‘no date’)
• In citations months should be abbreviated to the three or four letter form, i.e. Feb, Sept.
• In the text of the essay, do not abbreviated months or days of the week
• In both citations and in the text, century can be abbreviated to cent. or c., i.e. 19th cent. or 19th c.

Quotations and paraphrasing

Footnoting – changes to this Referencing Tool: The Oxford Style Manual recommends that direct quotes be enclosed within single quotation marks. However, if you submit your essay through Turnitin, all direct quotes need to be enclosed within double quotation marks. In this Referencing Tool we have tried to be consistent with the correct Oxford style and have presented all direct quote examples within single quotation marks.

Short Quotations

• Remember to always record a quotation exactly as given by its author.
• Use single quotation marks for short quotations inserted in the text. Add a superscript in-text number at the end of the sentence. A footnote should be included at the end of the page to indicate the source of the quote.

Example:

Text
Hirst claimed that ‘the worst sectarian violence in our history occurred in Melbourne in 1846 when Catholic and Protestant mobs fired on each other on the anniversary of the Battle of the Boyne’.²

Footnote:
2. John Hirst, Sense and Nonsense in Australian History (Melbourne: Black Inc., 2006), 176.

Long Quotations

• For quotations of three lines or longer, indent each line by five spaces and use single spacing between each line. Do not use any quotation marks. Add a superscript in-text number at the end of the quote. A footnote should be included at the end of the page to indicate the source of the quote.
• The exception to this format is when quoting poetry or plays. See the Style Notes on Poetry & Plays for further information.

Example:

Text
Historians of the post-war period have noted the rapid expansion of government-funded education, particularly of university education, and the social changes that sprang from this:

Ironically, Menzies’s commitment to education had produced a large population of university students, often schooled in the critique of the new social sciences and whose affluence and idealism made them ready and eager to overthrow the old order associated with Menzies and Calwell. Across the country the old concern to preserve the status quo, to converse uniformity, to safeguard the Australian way of life and the family home from subversion was giving way to demands for change.³

Footnote:
3. Patricia Grimshaw et al., Creating a Nation (Ringwood, VIC: McPhee Gribble, 1994), 300.

Omissions from Quotations

• To indicate an omission from a quotation, use an ellipsis (three full stops with spaces before the first and after the third). This can be used in the middle of a quotation or at either end.

Example:

Text
In the 1980’s there was a growing demand for RF (Islamic) banking in the West.

The effort to provide RF financial services was pioneered by Al Barak Bank in London in 1988, when it tried to come up with a home financing contract that would fit the requirements of the banking law in the West … This resulted in the birth of a new “Islamic” financing model based on the lease-to purchase model (Al Ijara Wal Tamaluk or Ijarah Wal Iqtina – these Arabic terms both mean lease to own).⁵

Footnote
Yahia Abdul-Rahman, The Art of Islamic Banking and Finance: Tools and Techniques for Community-based Banking (Hoboken, NJ: John Wiley & Sons, 2010), 206.

Paraphrasing

Example:

Original text:
The Revolution of 1688-89 was … of great importance for the history of liberty, in England and elsewhere. Later generations saw it as the cornerstone of their liberties – an MP referred to the Bill of Rights as “our national contract” as early as 1690 (Grey 1769, pp.75-76) – and used it to validate their claims for greater liberty.

Paraphrased as:

Text
The idea that the Bill of Rights guaranteed liberty can be traced back to debate in the House of Commons in 1690.¹²

Footnote
12. J. Miller, ‘Crown, Parliament and People’, in J.R. Jones (ed.), Liberty Secured? Britain Before and After 1688 (Stanford: Stanford University Press, 1992), 86.

First, second and subsequent references

• The first time a source is mentioned in the footnotes it is necessary to include the full reference.

1. Murray Johnson and Ian McFarlane, Van Diemen's Land: An Aboriginal History (Sydney: UNSW Press, 2015), 220.

• If you cite the same work again in the footnote immediately following the first mention you can use a short abbreviated title. This short title will usually be the author's surname  and a short title extracted from the full title - this short form can then be used throughout.  See footnote number 3, and then the short form used in 4, and then 6 and 7 in the examples below.

3. Robert Broome, Aboriginal Victorians: A History Since 1800 (Crows Nest, NSW: Allen & Unwin, 2005), 120.

4. Broome, Aboriginal Victorians, 126

• Use the same short title if you refer to the same work again anywhere in the footnotes. A list might look like this:

1. Murray Johnson and Ian McFarlane, Van Diemen's Land: An Aboriginal History (Sydney: UNSW Press, 2015), 220
2. Tom Nairn, Faces of Nationalism: Janus Revisited (London: Verso, 1997), 17.
3. Robert Broome, Aboriginal Victorians: A History Since 1800 (Crows Nest, NSW: Allen & Unwin, 2005), 120.
4. Broome, Aboriginal Victorians, 126
5. John Danalis, Riding the Black Cockatoo (Crows Nest, NSW: Allen & Unwin, 2009), 53.
6. Broome, Aboriginal Victorians, 127.
7. Broome, Aboriginal Victorians, 130.
8. Nairn, Faces of Nationalism, 176.
9. Nairn, Faces of Nationalism, 180.

• See New Harts Rules: The Oxford Style Guide 2nd edition 2014 for further information about short titles.

Note identifiers - supercripted numbers appearing in the text

• If you quote, paraphrase or summarise information from another source, you must include a note identifier and accompanying footnote in the body of your assignment.
• The note identifier must be written in superscript i.e. ⁴ Superscript is where the numbers are slightly raised above the level of the text.
• The note identifier should appear after any punctuation (normally after the closing point of a sentence).
• If you use a long quotation (more than three lines of text), the note identifier should be placed at the end of the quotation.
• See New Harts Rules: The Oxford Style Guide 2nd edition 2014, section 17.2.3.