Newspaper articles

Footnotes

Author, ‘Title of Article’, Newspaper Title, ‘Section (if applicable)’, date of publication, page extent, in Name of Database [online database], access date.

‘China, Cambodia and the Uighurs’, New York Times, 22 Dec. 2009, A40, in ProQuest Central [online database], accessed 26 Nov. 2012.

Michael Gordon, ‘Green at Heart’, Age, 30 Aug. 2012, 11, in Factiva [online database], accessed 26 Nov. 2012.

Joanne Trzcinski, ‘Bohemian Rhapsody’, Sunday Times (Perth), ‘Home Magazine’, 16 May 2009, 20, in Factiva [online database], accessed 26 Nov. 2012.

Bibliography

Author, ‘Title of Article’, Newspaper Title, ‘Section (if applicable)’, date of publication, page extent, in Name of Database [online database], access date.

‘China, Cambodia and the Uighurs’, New York Times, 22 Dec. 2009, A40, in ProQuest Central [online database], accessed 26 Nov. 2012.

Gordon, Michael, ‘Green at Heart’, Age, 30 Aug. 2012, 11, in Factiva [online database], accessed 26 Nov. 2012.

Trzcinski, Joanne, ‘Bohemian Rhapsody’, Sunday Times (Perth), ‘Home Magazine’, 16 May 2009, 20, in Factiva [online database], accessed 26 Nov. 2012.

Notes
  • Newspaper titles are italicised and ‘The’ is omitted, e.g. Age not The Age; Australian not The Australian
  • If the article is from a particular section, include the name of the section after the title, i.e. ‘Education’ or ‘Life and Style’
  • If you are referencing a newspaper with a very common name is it helpful to include the place of publication in brackets after the name, e.g. Sun (Sydney)
Footnotes

‘Title of Article’, Newspaper Title, ‘Section (if applicable)’, date of publication, page extent, in Name of Database [online database], access date.

‘China, Cambodia and the Uighurs’, New York Times, 22 Dec. 2009, A40, in ProQuest Central [online database], accessed 26 Nov. 2012.

‘Latest News from the Sinking Ship’, New York Times, 15 Apr. 1912, 1, in ProQuest Historical Newspapers [online database], accessed 26 Nov. 2012.

Bibliography

‘Title of Article’, Newspaper Title, ‘Section (if applicable)’, date of publication, page extent, in Name of Database [online database], access date.

‘China, Cambodia and the Uighurs’, New York Times, 22 Dec. 2009, A40, in ProQuest Central [online database], accessed 26 Nov. 2012.

‘Latest News from the Sinking Ship’, New York Times, 15 Apr. 1912, 1, in ProQuest Historical Newspapers [online database], accessed 26 Nov. 2012.

Notes
  • Newspaper titles are italicised and ‘The’ is omitted, e.g. Age not The Age; Australian not The Australian
  • If the article is from a particular section, include the name of the section after the title, i.e. ‘Education’ or ‘Life and Style’
  • If you are referencing a newspaper with a very common name is it helpful to include the place of publication in brackets after the name, e.g. Sun (Sydney)
Footnotes

Author, ‘Title of Article’, Newspaper Title, ‘Section (if applicable)’, date of publication, page extent.

Carolyn Webb, ‘Solving Mystery of Hidden Army Hospital Cemetery’, Age, 14 Nov. 2012, 7.

Bibliography

Author, ‘Title of Article, Newspaper Title, ‘Section (if applicable)’, date of publication, page extent.

Webb, Carolyn, ‘Solving Mystery of Hidden Army Hospital Cemetery’, Age, 14 Nov. 2012, 7.

Notes
  • Newspaper titles are italicised and ‘The’ is omitted, e.g. Age not The Age; Australian not The Australian
  • If the article is from a particular section, include the name of the section after the title, i.e. ‘Education’ or ‘Life and Style’
  • If you are referencing a newspaper with a very common name is it helpful to include the place of publication in brackets after the name, e.g. Sun (Sydney)
Footnotes

‘Title of Article’, Newspaper Title, ‘Section (if applicable)’, date of publication, page extent.

‘Britain Rejects Pardon for ‘Breaker’ Morant’, Australian, 12 Nov. 2012, 14.

Bibliography

‘Title of Article’, Newspaper Title, ‘Section (if applicable)’, date of publication, page extent.

‘Britain Rejects Pardon for ‘Breaker’ Morant’, Australian, 12 Nov. 2012, 14.

Notes
  • If the article has no known author (i.e. if it is anonymous) list it alphabetically by its title in the bibliography.
  • If the article is from a particular section, include the name of the section after the title, i.e. ‘Education’ or ‘Life and Style’
  • Newspaper titles are italicised and ‘The’ is omitted, e.g. Age not The AgeAustralian not The Australian.
  • If you are referencing a newspaper with a very common name is it helpful to include the place of publication in brackets after the name, e.g. Sun (Sydney)
Footnotes

Author, ‘Title of Article’, Newspaper Title, ‘Section (if applicable)’, date of publication, para. number, <URL>, access date.

Steven L. Spiegel, ‘Lessons of the Gaza War’, Huffington Post, 22 Nov. 2012, para. 8, <http://www.huffingtonpost.com/steven-l-spiegel/gaza-war-results_b_2173992.html?utm_hp_ref=politics&ir=Politics>, accessed 26 Nov. 2012.

Jason Motlagh, ‘In Indonesia and Malaysia, as Demand for Palm Oil Grows, So Do Environmental, Labor Concerns’, Washington Post, 26 Nov. 2012, para. 4, <http://www.washingtonpost.com/world/asia_pacific/2012/11/25/857010fa-3036-11e2-a30e-5ca76eeec857_story.html?hpid=z10>, accessed 28 Nov. 2012.

Bibliography

Author, ‘Title of Article’, Newspaper Title, ‘Section (if applicable)’, date of publication, para. number, <URL>, access date.

Barbour, Virginia, ‘What to believe in the new world of open access publishing’, Conversation, ‘Education’, 11 Aug. 2015, para. 3, <http://theconversation.com/what-to-believe-in-the-new-world-of-open-access-publishing-45763>, accessed 24 Aug. 2015.

Spiegel, Steven L., ‘Lessons of the Gaza War’, Huffington Post, 22 Nov. 2012, para. 8, <http://www.huffingtonpost.com/steven-l-spiegel/gaza-war-results_b_2173992.html?utm_hp_ref=politics&ir=Politics>, accessed 26 Nov. 2012.

Motlagh, Jason, ‘In Indonesia and Malaysia, as Demand for Palm Oil Grows, So Do Environmental, Labor Concerns’, Washington Post, 26 Nov. 2012, para. 4, <http://www.washingtonpost.com/world/asia_pacific/2012/11/25/857010fa-3036-11e2-a30e-5ca76eeec857_story.html?hpid=z10>, accessed 28 Nov. 2012.

Notes
  • For newspapers that are online only, there won’t be page numbers to cite, but you should include a paragraph reference
  • Newspaper titles are italicised and ‘The’ is omitted, e.g. Age not The AgeAustralian not The Australian.
  • If the article is from a particular section, include the name of the section after the title, i.e. ‘Education’ or ‘Life and Style’
  • If you are referencing a newspaper with a very common name is it helpful to include the place of publication in brackets after the name, e.g. Sun (Sydney)
  • An 'Article from the internet' is different to an 'Article from a database'. An 'Article from a database' is the same article which appeared in the print version of the newspaper. An 'Article from the internet' needs to be cited differently because web versions can be updated where the print version cannot. E.g. an article from the Age online might be an updated version to the article that was in the printed newspaper.
Footnotes

Author, ‘Title of Article', Newspaper Title, ‘Section (if applicable)’, Date of Publication, page extent, in Factiva [online database], access date.

Joanne Trzcinski, ‘Bohemian Rhapsody’, Sunday Times (Perth), ‘Home Magazine’, 16 May 2009, 20, in Factiva [online database], accessed 26 Nov. 2012.

Michael Gordon, ‘Green at Heart’, Age, 30 Aug. 2012, 11, in Factiva [online database], accessed 26 Nov. 2012.

Bibliography

Author, ‘Title of Article', Newspaper Title, 'Section (if applicable)', Date of Publication, page extent, in Factiva [online database], access date.

Gordon, Michael, ‘Green at Heart’, Age, 30 Aug. 2012, 11, in Factiva [online database], accessed 26 Nov. 2012.

Trzcinski, Joanne, ‘Bohemian Rhapsody’, Sunday Times (Perth), ‘Home Magazine’, 16 May 2009, 20, in Factiva [online database], accessed 26 Nov. 2012.

Notes
  • Newspaper titles are italicised and ‘The’ is omitted, e.g. Age not The Age; Australian not The Australian
  • If the article is from a particular section, include the name of the section after the title, i.e. ‘Education’ or ‘Life and Style’
  • If you are referencing a newspaper with a very common name is it helpful to include the place of publication in brackets after the name, e.g. Sun (Sydney)
Footnotes

Author (if known), ‘Title of Article’, Newspaper Title, ‘Section (if applicable)’, date of publication, page extent, in ProQuest Historical Newspapers [online database], access date.

‘Latest News from the Sinking Ship’, New York Times, 15 Apr. 1912, 1, in ProQuest Historical Newspapers [online database], accessed 26 Nov. 2012.

George Orwell, ‘Future of a Ruined Germany: Rural Slum Cannot Help Europe’, Observer, 8 Apr. 1945, 5, in ProQuest Historical Newspapers [online database], accessed 26 Nov. 2012.

Bibliography

Author (if known), ‘Title of Article’, Newspaper Title, ‘Section (if applicable)’, date of publication, page extent, in ProQuest Historical Newspapers [online database], access date.

‘Latest News from the Sinking Ship’, New York Times, 15 Apr. 1912, 1, in ProQuest Historical Newspapers [online database], accessed 26 Nov. 2012.

Orwell, George, ‘Future of a Ruined Germany: Rural Slum Cannot Help Europe’, Observer, 8 Apr. 1945, 5, in ProQuest Historical Newspapers [online database], accessed 26 Nov. 2012.

Notes
  • Newspaper titles are italicised and ‘The’ is omitted, e.g. Age not The Age; Australian not The Australian
  • If the article is from a particular section, include the name of the section after the title, i.e. ‘Education’ or ‘Life and Style’
  • If you are referencing a newspaper with a very common name is it helpful to include the place of publication in brackets after the name, e.g. Sun (Sydney)
Footnotes

Author (if known), ‘Title of Article’, Newspaper Title, Date of Publication, page extent, in Trove [online database], access date.

‘The Miners of California and Victoria’, Bendigo Advertiser, 3 Sep. 1858, 2, in Trove [online database], accessed 28 Nov. 2012.

James P. Young, ‘Tin-Mining Under Miners’ Rights’, Mercury (Hobart), 5 Apr. 1893, 3, in Trove [online database], accessed 28 Nov. 2012.

‘Gambling Women’, Argus, 9 Oct. 1920, 7, in Trove [online database], accessed 26 Nov. 2012.

Bibliography

Author (if known), ‘Title of Article’, Newspaper Title, Date of Publication, page extent, in Trove [online database], access date.

‘Gambling Women’, Argus, 9 Oct. 1920, 7, in Trove [online database], accessed 26 Nov. 2012.

'The Miners of California and Victoria’, Bendigo Advertiser, 3 Sep. 1858, 2, in Trove [online database], accessed 28 Nov. 2012.

Young, James P., ‘Tin-Mining Under Miners’ Rights’, Mercury (Hobart), 5 Apr. 1893, 3, in Trove [online database], accessed 28 Nov. 2012.

Notes
  • Many historical newspapers will not have an identifiable author for brief articles; in the Bibliography list articles alphabetically by title
  • Newspaper titles are italicised and ‘The’ is omitted, e.g. Age not The AgeAustralian not The Australian.
  • If you are referencing a newspaper with a very common name is it helpful to include the place of publication in brackets after the name, e.g. Sun (Sydney)
Footnotes

Author, ‘Title of Article’, Newspaper Title (Microfilm or Microfiche), Date or Volume/Issue (year), page extent.

Barbara Baynton, ‘Goodbye Australia!’, Bulletin (Microfilm), 20/1017 (1899), 2.

Bibliography

Author, ‘Title of Article’, Newspaper Title (Microfilm or Microfiche), Date or Volume/Issue (year), page extent.

Baynton, Barbara, ‘Goodbye Australia!’, Bulletin (Microfilm), 20/1017 (1899), 2.

Notes
  • Newspaper titles are italicised and ‘The’ is omitted, e.g. Age not The AgeAustralian not The Australian.
  • If the article is from a particular section, include the name of the section after the title, i.e. ‘Education’ or ‘Life and Style’
  • If you are referencing a newspaper with a very common name is it helpful to include the place of publication in brackets after the name, e.g. Sun (Sydney)
  • If you are unsure whether your resource was microfilm or microfiche, consult the library catalogue or contact the librarians at your campus library