Primary and archival sources

Format
Footnote Number. Author Last Name, "Title of Poem/Section," Title of Work,  location in work (frag., lines, bk. etc).

OR

Footnote Number. Title of Play/Poem, ed. Name(s), Publisher, Year), act. scene. lines.

First entry:
1. Chaucer, "The Pardoner's Prologue," Canterbury Tales, frag. 6, lines 455-462.

2. Hamlet, ed. Daniel Cook (London: Penguin Books, 1996), 4.3.19-30.

3.. Milton, Paradise Lost, bk. 6, lines 920-929.

Second and subsequent entries:
4. Hamlet, 5.2.346-352.

See: CMOS 14.153

Format

Author Last Name, First Name and/or Initials. Title of Work: Subtitle of Work. Edited by Name(s). Series /Edition. Publisher, Year of Publication.

Milton, John. Paradise Lost and Paradise Regained. Edited by Christopher Ricks. Signet Classic Poetry Series. New York: New American Library, 1968.

Shakespeare, William. Hamlet. Edited by Terence John Bew Spencer. New Penguin Shakespeare, revd ed. London: Penguin Books, 1996.

The Canterbury Tales of Geoffrey Chaucer. Edited with introduction and notes by Daniel Cook. New York: Anchor Books, 1961.

• They are classics so just surname is ok - as above, Milton, Shakespeare and Chaucer in the footnotes.
• Classic English poems and plays are usually cited by book, canto, and stanza; stanza and line; act,scene and line; or other variations. In these cases publication details can be left out.
• If using page numbers to cite from poems and plays then you must include publication/edition details.
• The edition you are using is also required in bibliography /footnote for plays like Shakespeare's because variations in wording, lines and scene divisions has occurred over time.

Author, Title: Subtitle, trans. OR ed by Name(s), Edition/revision. (Publisher, Date), locator

Herodotus, The Histories trans. Aubrey de Selincourt revd. ed.(Penguin Books,1972), 3. 91-92.

Thucydides, The History of the Peloponnesian War, trans. Richard Crawley, revd. Donald Lateiner (Barnes and Noble Classics, 2006), 2.97.

Subsequent may look more like this:

Herodotus, The Histories 7.1-2.

Author. Title: Subtitle. trans. OR ed by Name(s). Edition/revision. Publisher, Date.

Herodotus, The Histories trans. Aubrey de Selincourt. Revd. ed. with introduction and notes by Andrew Robert Burn.Penguin Books,1972.

Thucydides. The History of the Peloponnesian War. Trans. Richard Crawley. Revd. by Donald Lateiner. Barnes and Noble Classics, 2006.

• Classical primary sources are usually cited in the text or footnote - add to bibliography if you are referring to a modern author's writing on the topic or a specific edition.
• Chicago recommends details of the edition should appear in the first note - then for subsequent you can go to abbreviated author and passage notation.
• Usually identified by books, sections lines - these remain the same regardless of edition or whether in original language or translated. Poetry is different - see Classic English Poems and Plays.
• Arabic numerals and letters are usually lowercase. Only use page numbers where you are referring to introductions or notes added by the modern editor/author.
• If using abbreviations of author names or titles - refer to The Oxford Classical Dictionary for the correct version.
• For punctuation see CMOS 14.145

Letters and the like in private collections

CMOS 14.129

Cite like other unpublished works. Instead of the repository being named use words like " in the author's possession" or  "private collection". Do not mention the location.

Authors Full Name to Receivers Full Name, Place letter was prepared (if known) and Date, in the author's possession.

Letters in published collections

CMOS 14.126

Format - if letters are in a published work, then reference as for a book.

Format for a physical archival collection

Author's Full Name to Receiver's Full Name, Place letter was prepared (if known/relevant) and Date, Box/Folder /File number, Collection Name, and Location of Archive/Library.

For letters, the footnote citation starts with the name of the letter writer and 'to' the name of the receiver. 

Town/City, State can be omitted if the location of Archive/Library is well known.

Do not have to mention 'letter' as its a given, but would name other modes of communications (memorandum or telegram for example).

Private contracts, wills and such

CMOS 14.118

Occasionally cited in footnotes but rarely in bibliography.

Name of Person, Type of Document and date, located in Box/File/Sequence, Place Where Held, Town/City and State.

Example - Two souvenir dinner menus - Captain Charles Cape and AB Patterson, autographed by attendees, 17 Sep 1902.

Footnote

1. 'Menu 1902', File 3-4 - Box 14, from the Papers of Andrew Barton 'Banjo' Paterson, 1902.

Bibliography

'Menu, 1902. Papers of Andrew Barton 'Banjo' Paterson. National Library of Australia. MS 10483, (Class 1, Series 11, File 3-4 - Box 14). 

Pamphlets reports and the like

CMOS 14.117

Treated like books.

See Websites- downloaded documents.

Personal Communications

CMOS 14.111

Run on in the text or given in a footnote - no bibliography entry.

See Personal communication (in this guide).

Posters and photographs

Footnote - Format
Footnote Number. First Name Last Name OR Name of Organisation, Title, format, (Publisher, Year) or (Collection and Location), page locator, URL .

First entry:
1. British Empire Films, When the Kellys Rode, poster (c. 1930), https://collection.powerhouse.com.au/object/23373.
2. Bridge over the Darling River at Wentworth, photograph (Searcy Collection at State Library of South Australia,1920), fig. 4. https://collections.slsa.sa.gov.au/resource/PRG+280/1/40/154.

Second and subsequent entries
3. B.E.F., When the Kellys Rode.
 

Bibliography entry if required

Format
Author #1 Last Name, First Name OR Corporate Author.  Title of Work: Subtitle of Work. Publisher, Year of publication. URL or location if archive/library

British Empire Films. ‘When the Kellys Rode’ Australia. c 1930s.’ Poster. http://www.powerhousemuseum.com/collection/database/?irn=23373.

Bridge over the Darling River at Wentworth, c 1920. Photograph. Searcy Collection. State Library of South Australia. https://collections.slsa.sa.gov.au/resource/PRG+280/1/40/154.

• Generally, you do not include ephemera in a bibliography. However, in some history subjects, ephemera needs to be in the bibliography as well as Footnotes. If in doubt, check with your lecturer.
• Classify the ephemera with a format type after the title, i.e. poster
• In the example above, Poster, ‘When the Kellys Rode’ (film), Australia, c 1930s’, is the full title of the item as it appears in the Powerhouse Museum’s online catalogue, where this resource was sourced. Always use the title given to an item by the institution which houses it.
• For citing other non-standard works in notes and bibliographies, see CMOS 14.115-119

Footnote number. Author, Title (Place of Publication, Date; Place of Publication, Date), locator, URL.

1. Willis George Emerson, The Smoky God or A Voyage to the Inner World (Chicago,1908; Project Gutenberg, 2013), pt. 5, para. 6, https://www.gutenberg.org/cache/epub/3007/pg3007-images.html.

2. Willis George Emerson, The Smoky God or A Voyage to the Inner World (Chicago,1908; Internet Archive, 2010), 157, https://archive.org/details/smokygodorvoyage00emer/mode/2up.

Author. Title. Place of Publication, Date. URL.

Emerson, Willis George.The Smoky God or A Voyage to the Inner World. Chicago,1908. https://archive.org/details/smokygodorvoyage00emer/mode/2up.

• Very old books where copyright has lapsed are quite often made available free online through platforms such as Project Gutenberg, Internet Archive and Google Books.
• If you can, use the versions that are scanned copies of the actual book (rather than versions with reflowable formats) - they are more authoritative as the title page and copyright pages are included. Its also easier to cite as you have page numbers.
• The examples show one of each - reflowable (Project Gutenberg) and scanned (Internet Archive).

Bible
Footnote Number. Book Chapter Number: Verse Number.
First entry:
1. Isa. 6:9.
Second and subsequent entries
2. Isa. 6:9

Koran (or Qur’an)
Footnote Number. Koran Number: Verse Number.
1. Koran 19:12

These references are not included in the bibliography, but if for some reason they must be listed…

Format as for a book
Author Last Name, First Name and/or Initials. Title of Work: Subtitle of Work. Edition. Publisher, Year of Publication.

Carroll, Robert P., and Stephen Prickett, eds. The Bible: Authorized King James Version. Oxford University Press, 2008.

• Page Number is not included
• For references to the Bible, the book is usually abbreviated, for guidance on when to abbreviate and acceptable abbreviations see CMOS 10.50-10.54.
• For citing other sacred works in notes and bibliographies, see CMOS 14.138-141.
• As books and numbering are not identical in different versions, the version cited should be identified, for example, New Revised Standard Version (abbreviation NRSV).
• If you are working extensively with biblical material, CMOS recommends you also consult The SBL Handbook of Style.