Expert help guides: APA7: Joanna Briggs

Joanna Briggs Institute

Reference List

Author, A., (Year). Title of article. Title of Journal, vol(issue), pp–pp. https://xxxxxx

Moola, S., Evans, C., Nalubega, S., McLuskey, J., Darlington, N., Croston, M., & Bath-Hextall, F. (2018). The views and experiences of nurses and midwives in the provision and management of provider-initiated HIV testing and counseling [Best practice information sheet]. Joanna Briggs Institute EBP Database, 20(10), 1–5. https://joannabriggs.org/

Whitehorn, A. (2019). Effects of induction of labor prior to post-term in low-risk pregnancies [Best practice information sheet]. Joanna Briggs Institute EBP Database, 21(6), 1–4. https://joannabriggs.org/

Notes

These sheets are individually paginated, so the issue number is required.
The best practice sheets appear to only be available in Joanna Briggs Institute EBP Database now.
Previously the periodical may appear as Best Practice: Evidence-Based Information Sheets for Health Professionals, or it may appear as JBI Database of Best Practice Information Sheets and Technical Reports. Use the name that appears on the sheet you are citing.
If it is necessary to distinguish best practice sheets from technical reports in the same issue of the combined form of the resource, it may be helpful to include a material type with the title (e.g., [Best practice sheet]).
As all Joanna Briggs Institute material is only available via JBI it is ok to include homepage of the institute rather than URL of the article (which in most cases will not resolve).

Reference List

Author, A. A. (Year). Title of article [Evidence summary]. Publisher/Database name. http://xxxxxx

James, A. H. (2019). Cardiac rehabilitation: Home-based versus center-based [Evidence summary]. Joanna Briggs Institute EBP Database. http://joannabriggs.org/

Marin, T. (2020). Hand hygiene compliance: Interventions in healthcare settings [Evidence summary]. Joanna Briggs Institute EBP Database.http://joannabriggs.org/

Notes

Evidence summaries are individually published by JBI (i.e., not a periodical). They are only available in the database called Joanna Briggs Institute EBP Database.

Reference List

Author, A. A. (Year). Title of article [Recommended practice]. Publisher/Database name. http://xxxxxx

Joanna Briggs Institute.(2020). Endotracheal tube: Extubation [Recommended practice]. Joanna Briggs Institute EBP Database. http://joannabriggs.org/

Joanna Briggs Institute.(2020). Transfusion: Blood warmer [Recommended practice]. Joanna Briggs Institute EBP Database. http://joannabriggs.org/

Notes

Recommended practice guides are individually published by JBI (i.e., not a periodical). They are only available in the database called Joanna Briggs Institute EBP Database.

Reference List

Author, A. A. (Year). Title of article. Title of Journal, vol(issue), pp–pp. http://doi.org/xxxxxx

Adams, J. L., Rust, D. B., Anderson, L. R., & McShane, F. J. (2019). Safe injection practices among anesthesia providers: A scoping review protocol. JBI Database of Systematic Reviews & Implementation Reports, 17(8), 1573–1581. https://doi.org/10.11124/JBISRIR-2017-003876

Iida, K., Ishimaru, M., Tsujimura, M., & Wakasugi, A. (2020). Experiences of advance care planning for community-dwelling older people: A qualitative systematic review protocol. JBI Evidence Synthesis, 18(4),807–813. https://doi.org/ 10.11124/JBISRIR-D-19-00129

Notes

Until 2012, each year of this periodical was continuously paginated, so the issue number is excluded for those references.
From 2013, each issue begins at page 1, so the issue number must be included.
From January 2020 (Volume 18 Issue 1), the JBI Database of Systematic Reviews and Implementation Reports has changed its name to JBI Evidence Synthesis.
The journal may also appear as JBI Library of Systematic Reviews, and JBI Database of Systematic Reviews & Implementation Reports. Use the name that appears on the article you are citing.
If the word "protocol" does not already appear in the title, it may be helpful to include a material type with the title (e.g., [Systematic review protocol])
If there is a DOI put it in, if not the homepage URL of the JB Institute will suffice.

Reference List

Author, A. A. (Year). Title of article. Title of Journal, vol(issue), pp–pp. http://doi.org/xxxxxx

Kipfer, S., & Pihet, S. (2020). Reliability, validity and relevance of needs assessment instruments for informal dementia caregivers: A psychometric systematic review. JBI Evidence Synthesis,18(4), 704–742. https://doi.org/10.11124/JBISRIR-2017-003976

Romano, M., Schultz, T., Tai, A., & White, S. (2014). The diagnostic test accuracy of clinical swallow assessment for oropharyngeal aspiration: A systematic review. JBI Database of Systematic Reviews & Implementation Reports, 12(8), 259–329. http://doi.org/10.11124/jbisrir-2014-1372

Notes

Until 2012, each year of this periodical was continuously paginated, so the issue number is excluded for those references.
From 2013, each issue begins at page 1, so the issue number must be included.
From January 2020 (Volume 18 Issue 1), the JBI Database of Systematic Reviews and Implementation Reports has changed its name to JBI Evidence Synthesis.
The journal may also appear as JBI Library of Systematic Reviews, or JBI Database of Systematic Reviews & Implementation Reports. Use the name that appears on the article you are citing.
Include the DOI if it has one.