Skip to Main Content

Journal articles

Reference List

With DOI

Author, A. A. (Year). Title of article. Title of Journal, Volume(Issue), pp–pp. https://doi.org/xxxxxx

Wrigley, T. (2019). Sharing knowledge for school improvement. Improving Schools, 22(3), 203–203. https://doi.org/10.1177/1365480219879344

Without DOI and from a nondatabase URL

Author, A. A. (Year). Title of article. Title of Journal, Volume(Issue), pp–pp. http://xxxxxx

Hill, K. D. (2018). What urban parents want: A parent network’s negotiation of school choice and advocacy efforts in underserved city schools. Improving Schools, 21(3), 209–224. https://journals.sagepub.com/toc/impa/21/3

Without DOI but from academic database or print version

Author, A. A. (Year). Title of article. Title of Journal, Volume(Issue), pp–pp.

Day, R. (2006). Two principles of perception revealed by geometrical illusions. Australian Journal of Psychology, 58(3), 123–128.
Notes
  • For detailed examples on how to write first citations and subsequent citations please go to the Style Notes - Authors section of this Referencing Tool.
  • If there is no issue number omit that part of the reference, e.g. 88, 56–572.
  • If the volume, issue and page numbers are missing you need to double check if it is a journal article - try downloading the PDF version, check your source, search for how others have referenced it or contact the Library for help.
  • When a DOI is available, no further retrieval information is required. The DOI should be in the format: https://doi.org.xxx, with no full stop.(it's now a direct link and can be copy and pasted in).
  • If there is no DOI, and you obtained the article through a library database, treat the article as if it were a print version: no URL required.

  • If there is no DOI, include the direct URL to the article, if available.

Source: Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (7th ed., pp. 286–287, 316–321); APA Style Journal Article References; APA Style How many names to include in an APA style reference.

Reference List

With DOI

Author, A. A., & Author, B. B. (Year). Title of article. Title of Journal, Volume(Issue), pp–pp. https://doi.org/xxxxxx

Gross, M., & Latham, D. (2012). What's skill got to do with it?: Information literacy skills and self‐views of ability among first‐year college students. Journal of the American Society for Information Science and Technology, 63(3), 574–583. https://doi.org/10.1002/asi.21681

Without DOI

Author, A. A., & Author, B. B. (Year). Title of article. Title of Journal, Volume(Issue), pp–pp.

Douglas, V., & Rabinowitz, C. (2016). Examining the relationship between faculty-librarian collaboration and first-year students' information literacy abilities. College & Research Libraries, 77(2), 144–163.
Notes
  • In-text citations - for examples of when to use of 'and' and '&' please go to the Style Notes - Authors section of this Referencing Tool.
  • Cite the names of the authors in the order they appear.
  • If there is no issue number omit that part of the reference, e.g. 88, 56–572.
  • If the volume, issue and page numbers are missing you need to double check if it is a journal article - try downloading the PDF version, check your source, search for how others have referenced it or contact the Library for help.
  • When a DOI is available, no further retrieval information is required. The DOI should be in the format: https://doi.org.xxx, with no full stop.(it's now a direct link and can be copy and pasted in)
  • If there is no DOI, and you obtained the article through a library database, treat the article as if it were a print version: no URL required.

  • If there is no DOI, include the direct URL to the article, if available.

Source: Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (7th ed., pp. 286–287, 316–321); APA Style Journal Article References; APA Style How many names to include in an APA style reference.

Reference List

With DOI

Author, A. A., Author, B. B., & Author, C. C. (Year). Title of article. Title of Journal, Volume(Issue), pp–pp. https://doi.org/xxxxxx

Lawrence, S., Hazlett, R., & Hightower, P. (2010). Understanding and acting on the growing childhood and adolescent weight crisis: A role for social work. Health & Social Work, 35(2), 147–53. https://doi.org/10.1093/hsw/35.2.147

Without DOI

Author, A. A., Author, B. B., Author, C. C., Author, D. D., Author, E. E., Author, F. F., & Author, G. G. (Year). Title of article. Title of Journal, Volume(Issue), pp–pp.  (keep adding authors up to 20 if required)

Glover, M., Scragg, R., Min, S., Kira, A., Nosa, V., McCool, J., & Bullen, C. (2011). Driving kids to smoke? Children's reported exposure to smoke in cars and early smoking initiation. Addictive Behaviors, 36, 1027–1031.
Notes
  • In-text citations - For 3 authors or more you need to only write the surname of the first author followed by et al. (which means `and others').
  • Cite the names of the authors in the order they appear.
  • Reference List - you are required to list all names with a comma between each and then an “&” between the last two authors (up to 20 authors).
  • For detailed examples on how to write first citations and subsequent citations please go to the Style Notes - Authors section of this Referencing Tool.
  • If there is no issue number omit that part of the reference, e.g. 88, 56–572.
  • If the volume, issue and page numbers are missing you need to double check if it is a journal article - try downloading the PDF version, check your source, search for how others have referenced it or contact the Library for help.
  • When a DOI is available, no further retrieval information is required. The DOI should be in the format: https://doi.org.xxx, with no full stop.(it's now a direct link and can be copy and pasted in)
  • If there is no DOI, and you obtained the article through a library database, treat the article as if it were a print version: no URL required.

  • If there is no DOI, include the direct URL to the article, if available.

Source: Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (7th ed., pp. 286–287, 316–321); APA Style Journal Article References; APA Style How many names to include in an APA style reference.

Reference List

With DOI

Author, A. A., Author, B. B., Author, C. C., Author, D. D., Author, E. E., Author, F. F., Author, G. G., Author, H. H., Author, I. I., Author, J. J., Author, K. K., Author, L. L., Author, M. M., Author, N. N., Author, O. O., Author, P. P., Author, Q. Q., Author, R. R., Author, S. S., … Author, U. U. (Year). Title of article. Title of Journal, Volume(Issue), pp–pp. http://doi.org/xxxxxx

Kalnay, E., Kanamitsu, M., Kistler, R., Collins, W., Deaven, D., Gandin, L., Iredell, M., Saha, S., White, G., Woollen, J., Zhu, Y., Chelliah, M., Ebisuzaki, W., Higgins, W., Janowiak, J., Mo, K. C., Ropelewski, C., Wang, J., Leetmaa, A., ... Joseph, D. (1996). The NCEP/NCAR 40-year reanalysis project. Bulletin of the American Meteorological Society, 77(3), 437–471. https://doi.org/fg6rf9

Without DOI

Author, A. A., Author, B. B., Author, C. C., Author, D. D., Author, E. E., Author, F. F., Author, G. G., Author, H. H., Author, I. I., Author, J. J., Author, K. K., Author, L. L., Author, M. M., Author, N. N., Author, O. O., Author, P. P., Author, Q. Q., Author, R. R., Author, S. S., … Author, U. U. (Year). Title of article. Title of Journal, Volume(Issue), pp–pp. https://xxxxxx

Kalnay, E., Kanamitsu, M., Kistler, R., Collins, W., Deaven, D., Gandin, L., Iredell, M., Saha, S., White, G., Woollen, J., Zhu, Y., Chelliah, M., Ebisuzaki, W., Higgins, W., Janowiak, J., Mo, K. C., Ropelewski, C., Wang, J., Leetmaa, A., ... Joseph, D. (1996). The NCEP/NCAR 40-year reanalysis project. Bulletin of the American Meteorological Society, 77(3), 437–471. https://journals.ametsoc.org/
Notes
  • In-text citations - write the first surname followed by et al. (which means `and others').
  • Reference List - Where there are twenty one (21) or more authors, list the first nineteen (19) names of the authors, then 3 dots ... and then list the final authors name.
  • Cite the names of the authors in the order they appear.
  • For detailed examples on how to write first citations and subsequent citations please go to the Style Notes - Authors section of this Referencing Tool.
  • If there is no issue number omit that part of the reference, e.g. 88, 56–572.
  • If the volume, issue and page numbers are missing you need to double check if it is a journal article - try downloading the PDF version, check your source, search for how others have referenced it or contact the Library for help.
  • When a DOI is available, no further retrieval information is required. The DOI should be in the format: https://doi.org.xxx, with no full stop.(it's now a direct link and can be copy and pasted in)
  • If there is no DOI, and you obtained the article through a library database, treat the article as if it were a print version: no URL required.

  • If there is no DOI, include the direct URL to the article, if available.

Source: Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (7th ed., pp. 286–287, 316–321); APA Style Journal Article References; APA Style How many names to include in an APA style reference.

 

In-text referencing

Direct quote (page number(s) must be included)

She later "moved on to study at Radcliffe College" ("Award for distinguished", 2009, p. 642).

Paraphrasing or summarising (use of page number(s) encouraged - see note)

Leadership played a key role ("Award for distinguished", 2009).
Reference List

With DOI

Title of article. (Year). Title of Journal, Volume(Issue), pp–pp. https://doi.org/xxxxxx

Award for distinguished scientific contributions: Alice H. Eagly. (2009). American Psychologist, 64, 642–658. https://doi.org/10.1037/a0017804

Without DOI (non database URL)

Title of article. (Year). Title of Journal, Volume(Issue), pp–pp. http://xxxxxx

Award for distinguished scientific contributions: Alice H. Eagly. (2009). American Psychologist, 64, 642–658. http://www.apa.org/pubs/journals/amp/

Without DOI but from an academic database or print version

Title of article. (Year). Title of Periodical, Volume(Issue), pp–pp.

Localized hypertrophy of the semimembranosus muscle simulating popliteal cyst. (1970). Journal of Bone and Joint Surgery, 52, 337–339.
Notes
  • When a DOI is available, no further retrieval information is required. The DOI should be in the format: https://doi.org.xxx, with no full stop. (It's now a direct link and can be copy and pasted in)
  • If there is no DOI, and you obtained the article through a library database, treat the article as if it were a print version: no URL required.
  • If there is no DOI, include the direct URL to the article, if available.
  • If there is no issue number omit that part of the reference, e.g. 88, 56–572.
  • If the volume, issue and page numbers are missing you need to double check if it is a journal article - try downloading the PDF version, check your source, search for how others have referenced it or contact the Library for help.
  • In the reference list - list alphabetically by title of article (ie where you would normally put the author name).

Source: Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (7th ed., pp. 286–287, 316–321); APA Style Journal Article References; APA Style How many names to include in an APA style reference.

Reference List

With DOI

Author, A. A., Author, B. B., Author, C. C., & Author, D. D. (Year). Title of article. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews. https://doi.org/xxxxxx

Milne, A. C., Potter, J., Vivanti, A., & Avenell, A. (2009). Protein and energy supplementation in elderly people at risk from malnutrition. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, 2009(2). https://doi.org/10.1002/14651858.CD003288.pub3
Notes
  • For detailed examples on how to write first citations and subsequent citations please go to the Style Notes - Authors section of this Referencing Tool.
  • Database name is not italicized in text. Referencing Cochrane reviews will depend on the information you find in the review - cite what you see.
  • It's okay to omit volume, issue and article number if the information is missing from the version you are looking at.
  • If the information is there then reference as you would for any journal article. Note that quite often the PDF version of the article will have the year as the volume number - this is fine and is shown in example above.

Source: Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (7th ed., p. 319).

Reference List

With DOI

Author, A. A., & Author, B. B. (Year). Title of article. Title of Journal, Volume(Issue), pp–pp. https://doi.org/xxxxxx

Vincent, J., & Gerlach, H. (2004). Fluid resuscitation in severe sepsis and septic shock: An evidence-based review. Critical Care Medicine, 32(Suppl.), S451–S454. https://doi.org/10.1097/01.CCM.0000142984.44321.A4
Notes
  • Include (Suppl.) after the volume number and also add the letter S in front of the page numbers. If there is more than one supplemental issue in the volume indicate which number is being referenced e.g. (Suppl. 2)
  • If there is a special section include a page range, if it's a special issue do not include a page range.
  • If the editors have put in an S in front of the issue or page numbers put it in the reference (see example).
  • The reference itself in the special section or issue follows the same format as for a journal article - so the title of the special section or issue does not appear in the reference.
  • For detailed examples on how to write first citations and subsequent citations please go to the Style Notes - Authors section of this Referencing Tool.

Source: Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (7th ed., p. 319).

Reference List

In press

Author, A. A., & Author, B. B. (in press). Title of article. Title of Journal. https://xxxxxx

Goad, D., Collins, A. T., & Gal, U. (in press). Privacy and the Internet of Things: An experiment in discrete choice. Information & Management. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.im.2020.103292

Advance online publication

Author, A. A., & Author, B. B. (Year). Title of article. Title of Journal. Advance online publication. https://doi.org/xxxxxx

Kaiser, E. (2020). Violence on street children: Looking through Erikson’s psychosocial development theory. Journal of Health and Social Sciences. Advance online publication. https://doi.org/10.19204/2020/vlnc10
Notes
  • Include a URL or DOI if you have one for an 'in press' article.

Source: Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (7th ed., p. 318).

Reference List

With DOI

Author, A. A., & Author, B. B. (Year). Title of article. Title of Journal, Volume(Issue), Article 12345. https://doi.org/xxxxxx

Jones, A., & Straub, J. (2017). Concepts for 3D printing-based self-replicating robot command and coordination techniques. Machines, 5(2), Article 12. https://doi.org/10.3390/machines5020012

Colomer, I., Morrow, S. M., & Fletcher, S. P. (2018). A transient self-assembling self-replicator. Nature Communications, 9, Article 2239. https://doi.org/10.1038/s41467-018-04670-2
Notes
  • More often you will find journal articles that have article numbers or eLocators (and other terms). In these cases write Article and then the number instead of a page range.
  • If there is both an article number and page numbers, these pages can be used in the in-text citation but won't appear in the reference list as a page range.
  • Articles with article number still  follow all the other referencing conventions detailed in this section on Journal Articles.
  • For detailed examples on how to write first citations and subsequent citations please go to the Style Notes - Authors section of this Referencing Tool.

In-text referencing

Direct Quotes:
You are required to use page numbers for quotes.
See also: Direct quotation of material without page numbers, e.g. webpages, online videos, some ebooks.

Author notes:

Include the surname/s of the author and year. For example,

  • No author (note capitalisation): The Life of Insects (1979) or (The Life of Insects, 1979)

 

  • One author: Seaton (2018) or (Seaton, 2018)

 

  • Two authors: Grant and Grant (2018) or (Grant & Grant, 2008)

 

  • Three or more authors: Fraser et al. (2014) or (Fraser et al., 2014)

 

  • Group / corporate author: La Trobe University (2018) or (La Trobe University, 2018)

 

Author Prominent

Larkin (2004) claims that Paine's writings "represented a turning point in the revolution" (p. 10).

Bakris et al. (2010) found this applied to "15 patients (4%) in the darusentan treatment" (p. 828).
Information Prominent

"Paine's choice of metaphors, diction, syntax, and evidence were crucial to his success" (Larkin, 2004, p. 26).

It was found that "individuals can discriminate between members of their own and a closely related sympatric species on the basis of song and beak morphology" (Grant & Grant, 2008, p. 78).

Paraphrasing:
You may include page numbers if it would help your reader locate the relevant passage in a long or complex text.
Author Prominent

Benesch (2001) described the function of the rhetorical-grammatical process chart.

Chambers et al. (2013) state the benefit of working collaboratively.
Information Prominent

It was suggested that the packaging made a difference (Bakris et al., 2010).

International students are reporting higher levels than domestic students (Australian Council for Educational Research, 2010).